Search Unity

Scripts missing after refactoring name in many locations -- how to fix?

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by michaelgulak, Dec 5, 2021.

  1. michaelgulak

    michaelgulak

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2019
    Posts:
    4
    I have a prefab that is used in many other prefabs. In Visual Studio, I did a rename of one of the Behaviors that that script uses. Everything compiles fine, however, all of the references to that script in my prefabs was broken. So I went to the prefab that actually uses that script and updated it to use the new script again. However, all of the "instances" of that prefab in other prefabs are still broken. I can fix them one by one, but this seems like a large opportunity for errors and feels like there should be a better way. Ideally, modifying the prefab that is used in the other prefabs would have updated it everywhere. Is there some way to make my change to that prefab take effect in all other prefabs?

    To summarize:

    Prefab A is a child object in prefabs B, C, and D.
    Prefab A gets broken by a script refactor.
    I fix prefab A.
    Prefabs B, C, and D still contain broken prefab A's.
     
  2. Kurt-Dekker

    Kurt-Dekker

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013
    Posts:
    38,697
    Some info about Missing script warnings, GUIDs, renaming GUIDs, etc:

    https://forum.unity.com/threads/problem-with-git-and-missing-scripts.1090876/#post-7024801
    https://forum.unity.com/threads/scr...ead-after-loading-editor.998413/#post-6487297
    https://forum.unity.com/threads/scr...ead-after-loading-editor.998413/#post-6488230

    EVERYTHING in Unity is connected to the above GUID. It is super-easy to inadvertently change it by renaming outside of Unity. Don't do that. Instead:

    - close Visual Studio (important!)
    - rename the file(s) in Unity
    - in Unity do Assets -> Open C# Project to reopen Visual Studio
    - now rename the actual classes, and MAKE SURE THE FILE NAMES DO NOT CHANGE!

    If you are NOT using source control while you do this, renaming files is an EXTREMELY dangerous process. Use source control at all times so that you can trivially revert if you miss a critical step and damage your project.

    Please consider using proper industrial-grade source control in order to guard and protect your hard-earned work.

    Personally I use git (completely outside of Unity) because it is free and there are tons of tutorials out there to help you set it up as well as free places to host your repo (BitBucket, Github, Gitlab, etc.).

    You can also push git repositories to other drives: thumb drives, USB drives, network drives, etc., effectively putting a complete copy of the repository there.

    As far as configuring Unity to play nice with git, keep this in mind:

    https://forum.unity.com/threads/prefab-links-keep-getting-dumped-on-git-pull.646600/#post-7142306

    Here's how I use git in one of my games, Jetpack Kurt:

    https://forum.unity.com/threads/2-steps-backwards.965048/#post-6282497

    Using fine-grained source control as you work to refine your engineering:

    https://forum.unity.com/threads/whe...grammer-example-in-text.1048739/#post-6783740

    Share/Sharing source code between projects:

    https://forum.unity.com/threads/your-techniques-to-share-code-between-projects.575959/#post-3835837

    Setting up an appropriate .gitignore file for Unity3D:

    https://forum.unity.com/threads/removing-il2cpp_cache-from-project.1084607/#post-6997067

    Generally setting Unity up (includes above .gitignore concepts):

    https://thoughtbot.com/blog/how-to-git-with-unity

    It is only simple economics that you must expend as much effort into backing it up as you feel the work is worth in the first place.

    "Use source control or you will be really sad sooner or later." - StarManta on the Unity3D forum boards
     
    TreeHacks likes this.
  3. michaelgulak

    michaelgulak

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2019
    Posts:
    4
    Yeah I'm using git. Been using source control since before git even existed (sometime in the early 2000's).

    Seems like the tip here is:
    1. Change the filename in Unity
    2. Change the class name in VS to so that it will not rename that file
     
  4. BohTar

    BohTar

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2014
    Posts:
    10
    Okay i just encountered problem. How i solved it:
    I checked previous version of metafile, copied guid and replaced guid in new metafile. Unity reconnected it. Dont know why this is not happening automatically... Just unity stuff