Search Unity

Scripting problems in Roll a Ball

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by fuzzbuddy, Sep 20, 2017.

1. fuzzbuddy

fuzzbuddy

Hi I'm new to using Unity and have got stuck with making a script.
    I got up to tutorial 2. Moving the player on Roll a ball when it asks me to make a script.
    I'm using a Windows 10 PC.

Firstly when I am trying to load Monodevelop, Microsoft's Visual Studio gets in the way and I have to cancel it. (I think it was new with a recent Windows update - should I just delete all Visual Studio apps from my computer?)

Then I get an error message in Monodevelop:
    "Monodevelop 'could not load project 'Roll a Ball.CSharp.csproj' with unknown item type.

Also at the bottom of the Monodevelop page I have this error:
    "This file has line endings (UNIX) which differ from the policy settings (Windows)"
    - Convert to windows line endings
    - Convert all files to windows line endings
    - Keep UNIX line endings
    - Keep UNIX line endings in all files

Any help greatly appreciated.

2. JoeStrout

JoeStrout

Go ahead and let Visual Studio launch if it wants to. Many people feel that's a better editor than Monodevelop anyway.

(Personally, I use neither; I use Script Inspector 3, ever since that glorious day when I first discovered it.)

Oh, and the thing about the line endings isn't really an error, it's a warning, and it means exactly what it says. Pick an option. Probably you want "Convert all files to Windows line endings," but I don't think it really matters much.

3. Ichthus

Ichthus

Happened to me a resembling problem, here is the image: maseufiztudocerto.png

I did all right with the codes, I thought about simply copy them, but I thought better to do the lesson to KNOW why the code was that way, and understood everything, but then... look inside the yellow square.

4. fuzzbuddy

fuzzbuddy

Thanks for the help JoeStrout.
    Yes, Icthus I have a similar problem and am trying to work it out: