Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Scripting Madness

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by staylor, Jul 23, 2005.

1. staylor

staylor

Ok, so I'm very new to unity and am just playing around trying to get a ship to fly around. And I can do that, but now I want to toy with controlling how the ship reacts to commands and my very simple script just doesn't work. Unity keeps giving me very odd error messages. I've writen this script in boo, javascript and c# and all fail in a different way.

C# is the closest, but the Transform.Rotate seems to be different in C#. It's complaining that there's no overload method for Rotate that takes 4 methods (and when I don't specify Space.Self it complains that none take 3). I thought that all languages used the exact same libraries since it's all compiled to the .net cli.

Boo just gives me the increadably meaningfull message of an error BCE0044 on line 21 at column 21: expecting "EOF", found '<DEDENT>'. Is that supposed to mean it was expecting the End Of File? Maybe my Boo script is just plain wrong? I've never used Boo before so I don't really know.

Javascript gives the same type of error as Boo, in it's case it's line 22 at column 1: expecting EOF, found }.

Is there maybe a code size limit in the demo version? Is my code way off, it seems right to me but of these languages I've only used c# and it seems to come closest to working.

I'm using Unity 1.0.4 and any help would be GREATLY appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Attached Files:

2. staylor

staylor

Ok, I've figured out my problem on the c# front...the docs weren't kidding when they Rotate takes float and not double; I really should read docs more carefully :eek:

I'm still very curious about the javascript and boo problem though, especially as boo seems like a very cool language.

3. freyr

freyr