Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Scripting a Monster

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by Mattathis, Apr 3, 2012.

1. Mattathis

Mattathis

Hey people,

This is my first time posting so I hope it will all make sense!

I'm making a puzzle in which the controller has to go past a monster. The idea is that when you get to close the monster attacks you and you have to start over. To defeat the monster you have to destroy two objects (plants) and the monster will run away.

My plan was to put three cubes in front of the beast: monsterattack#1, monsterattack#2 and monsterflees.
    The two first cubes are connected to each one of the plants. So when you destroy plant one, you also destroy the first cube. Destroy plant two and you destroy cube 2.

So this is what you should get:
    If you don't destroy any plants you walk into cube 1 and the monster attacks you.
    If you destroy one of the two plants one of the two first cubes will still be there so the monster will still attack you.
    Destroy both plants and walk into the third cube, which makes the monster run away so you can move on.

I hope that made any sense, if not feel free to ask!

My problems:
    I want to script that when I'm close to plant 1 and press 'e' only that one gets destroyed (and the cube 1 as well). Same with the other plant.
    If someone could help me with that I would be soooooo happy, haha.

The beast has three animations, standing, walking and running. The idea was that when I touch the first or second cube the monster walks to me, so he has to have a animation were it moves to me and it has to have his walking cycle.

And at last when you touch the third cube the monster runs into the forest, using his running cycle.