Search Unity

Scriptable Object Localization

Discussion in 'Localization Tools' started by Goty-Metal, Aug 10, 2020.

1. Goty-Metal

Goty-Metal

So i'm new with the Localization Package (which is super useful by the way), added a dropdown to pick different languages, textmeshpro works like a charm with that.. perfect.
    The problem is that i have a ton of NPCs with different Scriptable Objects which contains the strings of dialog, how can i "Localize" them?

Thanks in advance!

2. Alexis-Dev

Alexis-Dev

Hi,

You could use LocalizeString in Scriptable Objects.
    Localize the TextMeshPro Text (by adding LocalizeStringEvent component).

And use:
    Instead of:
    Best,
    Alexis

Strom_CL, tzdevil, Xesk and 5 others like this.
  3. Goty-Metal

Goty-Metal

Thanks Alexis, TMP are working fine, but i can't figure how to use the LocalizedString, i have a list like this:
    Code (CSharp):
    1. List<LocalizedString> phrases
    And BEFORE i just did:
    Code (CSharp):
    1. String phrase = phrases[i];
    But as LocalizedString is not a string anymore i'm not sure how to work with them, can't find any example in the localization package documents.

4. Alexis-Dev

Alexis-Dev

Hello,

It's depend of your goal.

- If you want to localize a string with the current language and don't localize it when language change, you can do something like this:

I work with task to control the asynchronous function but you can work with coroutine.

- If you want to localize a string with the current language and localize it when language change, it's more complex...

I advise you to use TMP_Text and don't use string...

I hope this answer your question!

Best,
    Alexis

5. Goty-Metal

Goty-Metal