Search Unity

Question Script variables aren't showing up in inspector?

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by xfozstudios, Jul 12, 2021.

  1. xfozstudios

    xfozstudios

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2021
    Posts:
    3
    upload_2021-7-12_18-54-39.png

    **(I just started unity, and I'm not the most fluent in C#)**

    I've tried looking up solutions online, nothing worked. I'm following [this tutorial](
    ), but I can't seem to drag the player object into one of the variables...
     

    Attached Files:

  2. RadRedPanda

    RadRedPanda

    Joined:
    May 9, 2018
    Posts:
    1,648
    This is the Scripting forum. It usually requires a Script for us to help you.

    Some things it could be:
    • Didn't save your file
    • Didn't make object have [SerializeField] or it's not a public variable
    • Code didn't compile
    • Object isn't serializable
    • You didn't add any variables
     
    leomagic08 and Bunny83 like this.
  3. xfozstudios

    xfozstudios

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2021
    Posts:
    3
    Ooo, sorry, heres the script:

    Code (CSharp):
    1.  
    2. using System.Collections;
    3. using System.Collections.Generic;
    4. using UnityEngine;
    5.  
    6. public class MouseLook : MonoBehaviour
    7. {
    8.     public float mouseSensitivity = 100f;
    9.     public Transform playerBody;
    10.  
    11.     // Start is called before the first frame update
    12.     void Start()
    13.     {
    14.      
    15.     }
    16.  
    17.     // Update is called once per frame
    18.     void Update()
    19.     {
    20.         float mouseX = Input.GetAxis("Mouse X") * mouseSensitivity * Time.deltaTime;
    21.         float mouseY = Input.GetAxis("Mouse Y") * mouseSensitivity * Time.deltaTime;
    22.  
    23.         playerBody.Rotate(Vector3.up * mouseX)
    24.     }
    25. }
    26.  
    27.  
     
  4. xfozstudios

    xfozstudios

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2021
    Posts:
    3
    nevermind, problem solved, apparently i accidentally created 2 copies of the script file, and i was editing the wrong one
     
  5. Kurt-Dekker

    Kurt-Dekker

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013
    Posts:
    38,745
    It happens. Just make sure you've got the right mindset for tutorial following. This will save you a LOT of time:

    How to do tutorials properly:

    Tutorials are a GREAT idea. Tutorials should be used this way:

    Step 1. Follow the tutorial and do every single step of the tutorial 100% precisely the way it is shown. Even the slightest deviation (even a single character!) generally ends in disaster. That's how software engineering works. Every single letter must be spelled, capitalized, punctuated and spaced (or not spaced) properly. Fortunately this is the easiest part to get right. Be a robot. Don't make any mistakes. BE PERFECT IN EVERYTHING YOU DO HERE.

    Step 2. Go back and work through every part of the tutorial again, and this time explain it to your doggie. See how I am doing that in my avatar picture? If you have no dog, explain it to your house plant. If you are unable to explain any part of it, STOP. DO NOT PROCEED. Now go learn how that part works. Read the documentation on the functions involved. Go back to the tutorial and try to figure out WHY they did that. This is the part that takes a LOT of time when you are new. It might take days or weeks to work through a single 5-minute tutorial. Stick with it. You will learn.

    Step 2 is the part everybody seems to miss. Without Step 2 you are simply a code-typing monkey and outside of the specific tutorial you did, you will be completely lost.

    Of course, all this presupposes no errors in the tutorial. For certain tutorial makers (like Unity, Brackeys, Imphenzia, Sebastian Lague) this is usually the case. For some other less-well-known content creators, this is less true. Read the comments on the video: did anyone have issues like you did? If there's an error, you will NEVER be the first guy to find it.

    Beyond that, Step 3, 4, 5 and 6 become easy because you already understand!