Search Unity

Bug script errors

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by JimJPlaysYT, Sep 12, 2022.

  1. JimJPlaysYT

    JimJPlaysYT

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2021
    Posts:
    68
    I'm probably being stupid and tired but here's the script

    Code (CSharp):
    1. using System.Collections;
    2. using System.Collections.Generic;
    3. using UnityEngine;
    4.  
    5. public class PlayerMovement : MonoBehaviour
    6. {
    7.  
    8.     private Rigidbody rb;
    9.     public float moveSpeed;
    10.     public float jumpSpeed;
    11.     public float moveInput;
    12.  
    13.     private bool isOnGround;
    14.     private Transform playerPos;
    15.     public float positionRadius;
    16.     public LayerMask ground;
    17.  
    18.     private float airTimeCount;
    19.     public float airTime;
    20.     public bool inAir;
    21.  
    22.     // Start is called before the first frame update
    23.     void Start()
    24.     {
    25.         rb = GetComponent<RigidBody2D>();
    26.     }
    27.  
    28.     // Update is called once per frame
    29.     void FixedUpdate()
    30.     {
    31.         moveInput = moveInput.GetAxisRaw("Horizontal");
    32.         rb.velocity = new Vector2(moveInput * moveSpeed, rb.velocity.y);
    33.     }
    34.  
    35.     void Update()
    36.     {
    37.         isOnGround = Physics2D.OverlapCircle(playerPos.position, positionRadius, ground);
    38.  
    39.         if (isOnGround == true && moveInput.GetKeyDown(KeyCode.Space))
    40.         {
    41.             inAir = true;
    42.             airTimeCount = airTime;
    43.             rb.velocity = Vector2.up * jumpSpeed;
    44.         }
    45.  
    46.         if (moveInput.GetKey(KeyCode.Space) && inAir == true)
    47.         {
    48.             rb.velocity = Vector2.up * jumpSpeed;
    49.             airTimeCount -= Time.deltaTime;
    50.         }
    51.         else
    52.         {
    53.             inAir = false;
    54.         }
    55.  
    56.         if (Input.GetKeyUp(KeyCode.Space))
    57.         {
    58.             inAir = false;
    59.         }
    60.     }
    61. }
    62.  

    and the errors I get


    apart from the bottom one which i fixed
    thanks
     
  2. Brathnann

    Brathnann

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2014
    Posts:
    7,188
    Spelling and CAPS matter. That should help.

    And, if you are following a tutorial, review that tutorial. Because it looks like you just have a bunch of typos.
     
  3. Kurt-Dekker

    Kurt-Dekker

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013
    Posts:
    38,745
    Typos, typos, typos! Don't code when you're tired... but you can fix 'em yerself, here's how:

    The complete error message contains everything you need to know to fix the error yourself.

    The important parts of the error message are:

    - the description of the error itself (google this; you are NEVER the first one!)
    - the file it occurred in (critical!)
    - the line number and character position (the two numbers in parentheses)
    - also possibly useful is the stack trace (all the lines of text in the lower console window)

    Always start with the FIRST error in the console window, as sometimes that error causes or compounds some or all of the subsequent errors. Often the error will be immediately prior to the indicated line, so make sure to check there as well.

    All of that information is in the actual error message and you must pay attention to it. Learn how to identify it instantly so you don't have to stop your progress and fiddle around with the forum.

    Remember: NOBODY here memorizes error codes. That's not a thing. The error code is absolutely the least useful part of the error. It serves no purpose at all. Forget the error code. Put it out of your mind.

    Tutorials and example code are great, but keep this in mind to maximize your success and minimize your frustration:

    How to do tutorials properly, two (2) simple steps to success:

    Step 1. Follow the tutorial and do every single step of the tutorial 100% precisely the way it is shown. Even the slightest deviation (even a single character!) generally ends in disaster. That's how software engineering works. Every step must be taken, every single letter must be spelled, capitalized, punctuated and spaced (or not spaced) properly, literally NOTHING can be omitted or skipped.

    Fortunately this is the easiest part to get right: Be a robot. Don't make any mistakes.
    BE PERFECT IN EVERYTHING YOU DO HERE!!


    If you get any errors, learn how to read the error code and fix your error. Google is your friend here. Do NOT continue until you fix your error. Your error will probably be somewhere near the parenthesis numbers (line and character position) in the file. It is almost CERTAINLY your typo causing the error, so look again and fix it.

    Step 2. Go back and work through every part of the tutorial again, and this time explain it to your doggie. See how I am doing that in my avatar picture? If you have no dog, explain it to your house plant. If you are unable to explain any part of it, STOP. DO NOT PROCEED. Now go learn how that part works. Read the documentation on the functions involved. Go back to the tutorial and try to figure out WHY they did that. This is the part that takes a LOT of time when you are new. It might take days or weeks to work through a single 5-minute tutorial. Stick with it. You will learn.

    Step 2 is the part everybody seems to miss. Without Step 2 you are simply a code-typing monkey and outside of the specific tutorial you did, you will be completely lost. If you want to learn, you MUST do Step 2.

    Of course, all this presupposes no errors in the tutorial. For certain tutorial makers (like Unity, Brackeys, Imphenzia, Sebastian Lague) this is usually the case. For some other less-well-known content creators, this is less true. Read the comments on the video: did anyone have issues like you did? If there's an error, you will NEVER be the first guy to find it.

    Beyond that, Step 3, 4, 5 and 6 become easy because you already understand!

    Finally, when you have errors... refer back to the top of this post and ... fix your errors!
     
  4. JimJPlaysYT

    JimJPlaysYT

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2021
    Posts:
    68
    ok I still have one error which I'm not too used to


    it's the top error in the picture.

    Code (CSharp):
    1. using System.Collections;
    2. using System.Collections.Generic;
    3. using UnityEngine;
    4.  
    5. public class PlayerMovement : MonoBehaviour
    6. {
    7.  
    8.     private RigidBody2D rb;
    9.     public float moveSpeed;
    10.     public float jumpSpeed;
    11.     public float moveInput;
    12.  
    13.     private bool isOnGround;
    14.     private Transform playerPos;
    15.     public float positionRadius;
    16.     public LayerMask ground;
    17.  
    18.     private float airTimeCount;
    19.     public float airTime;
    20.     public bool inAir;
    21.  
    22.     // Start is called before the first frame update
    23.     void Start()
    24.     {
    25.         rb = GetComponent<RigidBody2D>();
    26.     }
    27.  
    28.     // Update is called once per frame
    29.     void FixedUpdate()
    30.     {
    31.         moveInput = moveInput.GetAxisRaw("Horizontal");
    32.         rb.velocity = new Vector2(moveInput * moveSpeed, rb.velocity.y);
    33.     }
    34.  
    35.     void Update()
    36.     {
    37.         isOnGround = Physics2D.OverlapCircle(playerPos.position, positionRadius, ground);
    38.  
    39.         if (isOnGround == true && moveInput.GetKeyDown(KeyCode.Space))
    40.         {
    41.             inAir = true;
    42.             airTimeCount = airTime;
    43.             rb.velocity = Vector2.up * jumpSpeed;
    44.         }
    45.  
    46.         if (moveInput.GetKey(KeyCode.Space) && inAir == true)
    47.         {
    48.             rb.velocity = Vector2.up * jumpSpeed;
    49.             airTimeCount -= Time.deltaTime;
    50.         }
    51.         else
    52.         {
    53.             inAir = false;
    54.         }
    55.  
    56.         if (Input.GetKeyUp(KeyCode.Space))
    57.         {
    58.             inAir = false;
    59.         }
    60.     }
    61. }
    62.  
    it says the error is on the line 'private RigidBody2D rb;'
    thanks
    unfortunately, I don't have one :(
     
  5. Kurt-Dekker

    Kurt-Dekker

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013
    Posts:
    38,745
    It is not necessary to get used to it.

    Instead, go look for the documentation on the method that it says it cannot find.

    Do you see anything different about how you typed it?

    Fix that.

    Now go look at where you got this. You have more typos. YOU must fix those. We cannot.
     
  6. MelvMay

    MelvMay

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 24, 2013
    Posts:
    11,499
  7. Brathnann

    Brathnann

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2014
    Posts:
    7,188
    Those errors are the same errors you posted before, which says you didn't look at anything. Even if you fixed your caps typos, that would have shown progress. At least try to fix your errors.
     
  8. JimJPlaysYT

    JimJPlaysYT

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2021
    Posts:
    68
    would you be able to tell me where, please? It's like writing an essay or something and when you get someone else to check it they find mistakes you never saw
     
  9. MelvMay

    MelvMay

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 24, 2013
    Posts:
    11,499
  10. JimJPlaysYT

    JimJPlaysYT

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2021
    Posts:
    68
    i have tried
     
  11. Brathnann

    Brathnann

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2014
    Posts:
    7,188
    If you read @MelvMay post right above yours, that shows you what is wrong. And as I said CAPS matter!
    We don't mind helping, but we don't want to just dump all the answers on you.