Search Unity

Screenshot simultaneously left and right eye view

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by Realter, Jan 13, 2021.

1. Realter

Realter

Hello,
    in a previous post I found out how to make a screenshot of the game view using this code:

Code (CSharp):
    1. public class NewBehaviourScript : MonoBehaviour
    2. {
    3.     void OnGUI()
    4.     {
    5.         if (GUILayout.Button("Capture"))
    6.         {
    7.             ScreenCapture.CaptureScreenshot("image.png");
    8.         }
    9.     }
    10. }
    Do you know how I could make in a way similar to the script shown above a simultaneously screenshot of the scene seen by both eyes? I mean something like in the picture attached.

I saw on the documentation that exists a StereoScreenCaptureMode but I don't know how I could use it in a script, I'm new to C# coding.

Thank you

Attached Files:

Last edited: Jan 14, 2021
  2. seejayjames

seejayjames

It should be possible, but I've been fiddling with it and haven't gotten it to work. You'd need to set up the scene's rendering to be stereo (XR) to set the mode correctly. Sorry I can't be more help than that (so far)...

Realter likes this.
  3. SparrowGS

SparrowGS

I haven't even seen an actual VR set yet so I don't have any experience developing on one, but from looking at the API it looks like when you call
    Code (CSharp):
    1. ScreenCapture.CaptureScreenshot("image.png");
    it defaults to the LeftEye mode of the "StereoScreenCaptureMode" enumeration, what an enumeration is is just a marker for the type, it's a secondary optional argument of the ScreenCapture.CaptureScreenshot() function and if you don't provide the optinal arguement it behaves like you say
    Code (CSharp):
    1. ScreenCapture.CaptureScreenshot("image.png", ScreenCapture.StereoScreenCaptureMode.LeftEye );
    I think all you gotta do is say
    Code (CSharp):
    1. ScreenCapture.CaptureScreenshot("image.png", ScreenCapture.StereoScreenCaptureMode.BothEyes);