Search Unity

  1. Good news ✨ We have more Unite Now videos available for you to watch on-demand! Come check them out and ask our experts any questions!
    Dismiss Notice

Sci Fi Top Down Game Template - PolygonR

Discussion in 'Assets and Asset Store' started by mefisto1982, Apr 19, 2018.

  1. cutsdbz

    cutsdbz

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2017
    Posts:
    2
    I love your template and I am working on a big project. I do have a question. Is it possible to apple a third person camera to the player? This is an early built I did and wanted to add a third person view as an option.
     
    Mucossa likes this.
  2. play_unity729

    play_unity729

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2018
    Posts:
    53
    I want to buy the assets but looks like the Dev it's un responsive to the forum
     
    d1-favero likes this.
  3. Bonzotaz1

    Bonzotaz1

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2014
    Posts:
    86
    He is very responsive on email
     
    Deniz-B likes this.
  4. IndieScapeGames

    IndieScapeGames

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    Posts:
    74
    The asset is great, I haven't left an official review yet, but the developer is very responsive very email. I emailed him before I purchased with some concerns and he answered them all and even took a few screenshots. The asset has had a few updates since I purchased it so I know he's still fixing bugs and adding features.
     
  5. bholland

    bholland

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2017
    Posts:
    17
    Hey Everyone, just got the asset and this is probably a stupid question but when I look at the demo scenes I open the main menu and click single player, it takes me to character selection, but then I can't move on from there. All of the scenes are entered in the game settings, but I can't get past character selection. I'm sure I'm missing something simple, but I can't figure it out.
     
  6. Bonzotaz1

    Bonzotaz1

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2014
    Posts:
    86
    Press "e" and it will work
     
  7. Xefan

    Xefan

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2014
    Posts:
    1
    Hi, I can't seem to load this asset properly anymore using the latest version of it (1.9). I've tried in Unity 2019.1.1, 2019.1.12, and 2018.4.5. I get the following error for each and every material, it appears as if all the materials are broken:

    Failed to load 'C:/Dev/Asset Test/PolygonR - Sci Fi Top Down Game Template/Assets/SciFi_Space_Soldier_Complete/ResourcesFolder/VFX/Bullets/T_VFX_Generic_Bullet_GREEN_D.mat' because it was serialized with a newer version of Unity. (Has a higher SerializedFile version)

    I also get the same error on other files:

    Failed to load 'Temp/Export Package/30a2838a47c0aab44ad303dae6d16909/00000000000000004000000000000000/asset' because it was serialized with a newer version of Unity. (Has a higher SerializedFile version)
     
    anycolourulike likes this.
  8. p_hergott

    p_hergott

    Joined:
    May 7, 2018
    Posts:
    353
    hows the ai in this? supports generic? can be customized? dynamic? can easily be added on to?
     
  9. JC_LEON

    JC_LEON

    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    Posts:
    443
    hi i'm interested in the asset too.. is this asset any sort of save game system in it??
    and a classi inventory system with slots ect?
     
    Last edited: Aug 30, 2019
  10. coolyy

    coolyy

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2018
    Posts:
    1
    I was download v1.9 and then
    upload_2019-9-12_17-38-35.png

    upload_2019-9-12_17-38-45.png

    upload_2019-9-12_17-38-55.png

    upload_2019-9-12_17-39-33.png

    who can help me
     

    Attached Files:

  11. Supersilvers

    Supersilvers

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2015
    Posts:
    3
    moosesnWoop likes this.
  12. Morphius68

    Morphius68

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2014
    Posts:
    20
    Hi Great asset but have a query when playing with a joystick - how do you aim?!? I'm probably missing something obvious, but any help appreciated ....
     
  13. anycolourulike

    anycolourulike

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2017
    Posts:
    5
    Hi,
    I am getting the Debug.Log("player Info NOT found - Saving Info");
    errror. How to fix this?

    Thanks
     
  14. YX_Iain

    YX_Iain

    Joined:
    May 4, 2014
    Posts:
    30
    Looks like this asset is being sold under false pretences.

    It clearly says on the Asset Store page this supports Unity 5.3.4, however when I open it on Unity 5.6.2 I am finding that hardly any of the sample scenes are included.

    Case in point:
    upload_2019-12-1_16-56-55.png

    Care to explain why these are missing and why it is claimed that the latest version (1.9) supports Unity 5.3.4 when it clearly does not?

    Edit: In fact it looks like if you open this on 5.6 you are actually opening V1.2 of this asset!

    That's some shocking misadvertising right there since you have not bothered to update the Unity 5 payloads when each new version of your asset has been released.
     
    Last edited: Dec 1, 2019
  15. anycolourulike

    anycolourulike

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2017
    Posts:
    5

    Why not upgrade to a newer unity? you might like it
     
    Rich_A likes this.
  16. Rich_A

    Rich_A

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2016
    Posts:
    276
    I agree, I don't understand why you would use a fundamental framework asset like this on such an ancient version of Unity.
     
  17. YX_Iain

    YX_Iain

    Joined:
    May 4, 2014
    Posts:
    30
    Because I have a full license key for the full version of Unity 5, and I do not have the money to upgrade to a full version of Unity 2019.

    Although I am finding it weird that randoms are questioning why I am using Unity 5.6 instead of asking why the asset was being advertised as supporting 5.3.4 upwards. That is (at the time of writing) false advertisement, no matter how you spin it. I'm happy to change my review if the Unity 5 payload is updated, however right now the functionality does not reflect what is advertised, period.
     
  18. ionbrainz

    ionbrainz

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2014
    Posts:
    5
    I happy with the work completed on this project
    I was wondering if there was a way to have the aiming target support high and low terrains
    when I start the player at a high point, the target is angle down.
    when I start the player at a low point, the target is angle up

    Is there any way to alternate / deviate the bullet's trajectory? Currently, they only travel in X-axis, but I want them to go with the angle of elevation that the player´s cursor is currently at; these could allow me to figure out a way to critical hit...
     
    Last edited: Dec 11, 2019
  19. lolclol

    lolclol

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013
    Posts:
    201
    no mobile support ?
     
  20. Diogof

    Diogof

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2016
    Posts:
    1
    Can we know when version 2.0 comes out?
     
    moosesnWoop likes this.
  21. plavalaguna

    plavalaguna

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2018
    Posts:
    4
    Hi, when is the new update?
     
  22. Pourya-MDP

    Pourya-MDP

    Joined:
    May 18, 2017
    Posts:
    78
    Hi there any chance for mobile rig system support??
    (Joysticks,touch solution)
     
  23. Yunori

    Yunori

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2019
    Posts:
    2
    Hi, thank you for your awesome project. I noticed 2 bugs about the vehicles. The first one is that we can't exit a vehicle that is turned off, and the second one is that the enemies will not attack the tank if you enter the tank before the enemy's creation (because the "player" obj disappears, so they got no targets). I saw that you tried to find a hack by setting the tag of the tank to "Player", but it's not working :'(.
     
  24. collins777c

    collins777c

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2016
    Posts:
    1
    Just going off of the 1.8v demo, but does this work out of the box with dual stick controller (Xbox360)? As is, the player needs the mouse to change the aim direction and the right stick just engages the aim button. I need to be able to manipulate the aim direction with the right stick.
     
  25. ozodic

    ozodic

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2019
    Posts:
    2
    Anyone know how to switch between top down and 3rd person mode?
     
  26. ozodic

    ozodic

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2019
    Posts:
    2
    I got it to work, and its awesome!! (needed to edit the code a bit, but the comments really helped)
     
  27. lyndontroy

    lyndontroy

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2012
    Posts:
    27
    What is the new "Procedural walking" feature?
     
  28. micheal332001

    micheal332001

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2017
    Posts:
    27
    hi there

    This is a great asset and works great.

    I have one problem at the moment when i have a turret shooting enemy's and i through a grenade i get this error

    Code (CSharp):
    1. NullReferenceException: Object reference not set to an instance of an object
    2. PrBullet.DestroyGrenade (UnityEngine.Vector3 HitNormal, UnityEngine.Vector3 HitPos, UnityEngine.Transform HitTransform) (at Assets/SciFi_Space_Soldier_Complete/Scripts/PrBullet.cs:182)
    3. PrBullet.Update () (at Assets/SciFi_Space_Soldier_Complete/Scripts/PrBullet.cs:155)
    is there a fix i can do.

    Any help would be great.
     
  29. micheal332001

    micheal332001

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2017
    Posts:
    27
    reported a problem in last post almost 2 weeks ago and no reply.
     
  30. micheal332001

    micheal332001

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2017
    Posts:
    27
    looks like the author does not check this forum
     
  31. Bonzotaz1

    Bonzotaz1

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2014
    Posts:
    86
  32. micheal332001

    micheal332001

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2017
    Posts:
    27
    thank you mate
     
unityunity