Search Unity

Question Scenes and Prefab as Entity, weird behaviour

Discussion in 'Entity Component System' started by Vari-Mods, Apr 18, 2021.

1. Vari-Mods

Vari-Mods

Hi,

I am totally new to ECS and Unity. I am trying to keep my entities following the ECS approach. Get rid of GameObjects etc.
    I currently have 3 different scenes (some Starting scene "MANAGER", a server connection scene "LOGIN" and a scene for the first ingame view "WORLD").

TheWorldScene just creates an Entity using a prefab. This ist just for an experimental purpose to get the very basics of entity creation and manipulation.
    As I am using GooglePlayServices for Android in the LOGIN-Scene. I startet to skip this one and jump instead to the WORLD-Scene .. Everything was fine. I saw my prefab (loaded as Entity) displayed in the editor. There was no GameObject attached to the scene.
    Code (CSharp):
    1. public class GameManager : MonoBehaviour
    2. {
    3.     public static GameManager instance;
    4.     private SceneIndexes currentScene;
    6.     private void Awake()
    7.     {
    8.         instance = this;
    9.         DontDestroyOnLoad(instance);
    10.         currentScene = SceneIndexes.MANAGER;
    12. #if UNITY_EDITOR
    13.         this.LoadScene(SceneIndexes.WORLD);
    14. #else
    15.         this.LoadScene(SceneIndexes.LOGIN);
    16. #endif
    18.     }
    20.     public void LoadScene(SceneIndexes sIndex) {
    21.         StartCoroutine(LoadAsyncScene(sIndex));
    22.     }
    24.     private IEnumerator LoadAsyncScene(SceneIndexes sIndex) {
    25.         AsyncOperation asyncLoad = SceneManager.LoadSceneAsync((int)sIndex, LoadSceneMode.Additive);
    27.         while (!asyncLoad.isDone)
    28.         {
    29.             yield return null;
    30.         }
    32.         SceneManager.UnloadSceneAsync((int)currentScene);
    33.         currentScene = sIndex;
    34.     }
    35. }
    Code (CSharp):