Search Unity

Third Party Scene management with PUN (Photon Networking) [solved]

Discussion in 'Multiplayer' started by MonkeyPuzzle, Jul 22, 2018.

1. MonkeyPuzzle

MonkeyPuzzle

Hello,

I am making a 4 person coop game. I am finishing up my first level and want to have all 4 players advance to the next level together, keeping all of their position and data, hopefully with a minimal or fast transition.

I am a little new to multiplayer programming but have learned a fair amount. There is a delay at the beginning of the game when players join and their models get instantiated. I am hoping to not go through that at every scene load. My game is an outdoor game with different terrains, although I am not making a massive singular world. I need to load new terrains, with different objects, rocks, etc.

Any help is appreciated!

2. CyberInteractiveLLC

CyberInteractiveLLC

first, i'm new too, I just started learning photon

What I do is:

Set PhotonNetwork.AutosyncScene = true; at the start

then

If (PhotonNetwork.IsMasterClient)
    {
    PhotonNetwork.LoadScene("SceneName");
    }

this way all clients will load the same scene that the host loads...

palazli15, MonkeyPuzzle and tobiass like this.
  3. MonkeyPuzzle

MonkeyPuzzle

Awesome - thank you that is very helpful!

4. MonkeyPuzzle

MonkeyPuzzle

So a couple of typos in there - got those ironed out and it is still not working as I would hope. I added:

Code (CSharp):
    1. PhotonNetwork.automaticallySyncScene = true;
    Into the start statement in my connect and join script.

and :

Code (CSharp):
    2. if(Input.GetKeyDown("p")) {
    3.      if (PhotonNetwork.isMasterClient) {
    4.           PhotonNetwork.LoadLevel("level2");
    5.       }
    6. }
    into my player control script.

(There is a Network control object in my scene that connects to the network and instantiates players at predefined spawn points.)