Search Unity

  1. All Pro and Enterprise subscribers: find helpful & inspiring creative, tech, and business know-how in the new Unity Success Hub. Sign in to stay up to date.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Dismiss Notice

Scene gone empty

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by nogue2k, Dec 7, 2012.

  1. nogue2k

    nogue2k

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Posts:
    3
    Yesterday all was good in the project, opened and reopened it with no problems.
    Today when i started unity, it said the project was outdated ( no new version was installed ), i clicked on CONTINUE, waited for the load and my scene was gone.
    It shows in the inspector, it opens, but it has nothing, not even a camera or terrain, im sure it still has data ( the scene file is 3.6MB ) but unity doesnt show anything.

    What can i do to get my scene back?
     
  2. Don-Gray

    Don-Gray

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    Posts:
    2,278
    Maybe nothing.
    I do hope you have been backing up.
     
  3. MikeBastien

    MikeBastien

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Posts:
    132
    If you select the scene in the Project Browser and go to 'Export Package', does it come up with all the references in the scene?

    It may take a minute to load. If it does, try exporting it, and re-importing it to a new scene.
     
  4. nogue2k

    nogue2k

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Posts:
    3
    You gave me some hope, but it didnt work =/
    It shows only the scene name
     
  5. MikeBastien

    MikeBastien

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Posts:
    132
    Hi,

    I should have added these thoughts with my last post as well:

    1. Delete the Library folder and let Unity rebuild the project. This might correct any corruption with an asset or something.
    2. Another idea: have you used 'Force Text' for all your assets? If not, try that (Edit >> Project Settings >> Editor >> 'Asset Serialization'). You can now open the scene in a text editor and review the file. I'm not familiar with the format it uses, but if you compare against another similar functioning scene, perhaps you can diff, and correct any apparent problems.

    However, at this point probably reverting to your latest 'backup' is probably the best solution. :p
     
unityunity