Search Unity

Question Scan a QR code and display a business card without requiring someone to have an app?

Discussion in 'AR' started by kimrasgado, Jun 3, 2023.

1. kimrasgado

kimrasgado

Hey guys, I've had this question on my mind for days: Is it possible to scan a QR code and display a business card without requiring someone to have an app on their cellphone? I'm fairly new to Unity and I have some ideas I've been practicing. Let me explain my idea a bit more. I'm currently creating an AR business card, but the problem is that in order to show people my business card, they would need to install the app on their cellphones. So, how can I show people my business card without them having to install the app on their cellphones?

makaka-org likes this.
  2. CindyG

CindyG

Maybe use WebAR such as AR.js?

kimrasgado likes this.
  3. kimrasgado

kimrasgado

do you know if that service free? I'll read and watch videos about it, than you.

4. makaka-org

makaka-org

Last edited: Jun 7, 2023
  5. usman1245

usman1245

Hello,

It's great that you're exploring AR business card ideas with Unity! To address your question, yes, it is possible to share a business card via QR code without requiring others to install an app on their phones. Here's one approach you can consider:

1. QR Code Generator: You can use a QR code generator, to create a QR code that links to your AR business card or website directly. This way, when someone scans the QR code with their phone's built-in camera app or with web apps like qrscanner.net, it will open the link in their web browser, showcasing your AR business card.
    2. Web-Based AR: Create your AR business card experience to be web-based. There are libraries and frameworks available, like WebAR, that allow users to interact with AR content directly through a web browser, without the need for a dedicated app.