Search Unity

  1. Good news ✨ We have more Unite Now videos available for you to watch on-demand! Come check them out and ask our experts any questions!
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Dismiss Notice

Scaling with ARFoundation

Discussion in 'AR' started by tdmowrer, Aug 5, 2018.

  1. redagrandrei

    redagrandrei

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2017
    Posts:
    49
    There was some old\depricated plugin which made it work in editor indeed. But now its outdated\or early access and not really working as far as i know.
     
  2. Jean-Fabre

    Jean-Fabre

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Posts:
    378
    Hi,

    I see... let's hope they provide something because right now, it's very frustrating especially when you want to explore the api and do more advanced use of AR experience.

    Bye,

    Jean
     
  3. GeckoTrader

    GeckoTrader

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2016
    Posts:
    8
    Thank you @tdmowrer for your post.

    Will this impact "Collaborative participants" functionality, which uses ARAnchor and reports back both participants and ARAnchors?
     
  4. rajshekarreddy

    rajshekarreddy

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2018
    Posts:
    4
    How do I do this the traditional way using lean touch?
     
  5. vishwah13

    vishwah13

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2019
    Posts:
    2
    i have a problem if i scale the AR Session origin it cant detect the Plane any more
     
  6. gaurav_u_gupta

    gaurav_u_gupta

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2020
    Posts:
    4
    I am struggling in it since last few days. if somebody can suggest anything it will be helpful.
    I have a steady model on AR Plane. and I want to scale it down after model is detected. When scaledown button is pressed following code is invoked:

    sessionOrigin.transform.localScale = Vector3.one * newval;
    sessionOrigin.MakeContentAppearAt(shadowPlane.transform, new Vector3(0,0,0));
    worldMap.setAnchorPoint(Vector3.zero, Quaternion.Euler(new Vector3(0.0f, 0.0f, 0.0f)));

    This doesn't work. and everthing remains as it is. model doesn't change at all.
    However, moment I change first line from localScale to position as :
    sessionOrigin.transform.position = Vector3.one * newval;

    it works and model size reduces. But problem is model looses its primary position and keeps changing the location at every button click. And I assume its because I am changing the position in code. But any suggestion what is going wrong ? why am I not able to use localScale ? Because my requirement is to change size not position.
     
unityunity