Search Unity

  1. Good news ✨ We have more Unite Now videos available for you to watch on-demand! Come check them out and ask our experts any questions!
    Dismiss Notice

SC Post Effects Pack - 33 additional effects (Built-in/URP)

Discussion in 'Assets and Asset Store' started by StaggartCreations, Jan 18, 2018.

  1. StaggartCreations

    StaggartCreations

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Posts:
    1,183
    I don't know why the editor would crash after importing. This happens to me since Unity 2019.3 when importing any kind of package about 3/10 times. The only way to know why is to check the editor log, right after a crash, which you can find in C:\Users\<username>\AppData\Local\Unity\Editor\Editor.log

    If you can't find any Post Process Layer component, it means the Post Processing package hasn't been installed through the Package Manager. This is nothing to be alarmed about, but it effectively means you're choosing to use URP's built-in post processing framework, which uses the SRP volume system. You can use this setup guide instead: http://staggart.xyz/unity/sc-post-effects/scpe-docs/?section=setup-using-urp-2019-3. If you're past the installation screen, all the scripts for the URP will already be installed.

    An update for the package is running a little late, but this will fix the error in the fog shader. The reason is because this effect hasn't yet been ported to the URP. For now, you can simply delete the shader file.
     
  2. dmarqs

    dmarqs

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2013
    Posts:
    18
    Hi again @StaggartCreations,

    Do you mind to guide me exactly what I need to do to make it work? I tried to follow your tutorial, it didn't work either.

    I tried installing The Post Processing Stack (v2) and then SC Post Effects and a bunch of new errors showed up.

    What exactly is the path to making a brand new URP project work? I really don't know what to do. =/
     
  3. dmarqs

    dmarqs

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2013
    Posts:
    18
    edi: I finally made it to work. Thanks!
     
  4. GossamerGames

    GossamerGames

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2017
    Posts:
    30
    Hey there! Been using this asset for a while now, however, now that I am trying to build for PS4 I am getting this error on all of the SC shaders, even after re-importing the package.

    "
    failed to open source file: '../../../Shaders/StdLib.hlsl'
    Compiling Vertex program
    Platform defines: UNITY_ENABLE_REFLECTION_BUFFERS UNITY_USE_DITHER_MASK_FOR_ALPHABLENDED_SHADOWS UNITY_PBS_USE_BRDF1 UNITY_SPECCUBE_BOX_PROJECTION UNITY_SPECCUBE_BLENDING UNITY_ENABLE_DETAIL_NORMALMAP SHADER_API_DESKTOP UNITY_LIGHT_PROBE_PROXY_VOLUME UNITY_LIGHTMAP_FULL_HDR "

    This appears on all of the shaders, however, I copied the error information from the AmbientOcclusion2D shader.

    Do you have any idea what could be the cause of this?

    Thank you so much for the asset! It looks great and has worked very well up until now.
     
  5. StaggartCreations

    StaggartCreations

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Posts:
    1,183
    Could you tell me which version of the package you're using? You can see this in the Help window. The ../../../Shaders filepath currently isn't used anymore. But if you've moved any shader files or libraries an error like this can occur, since the relative file paths have to be hardcoded.

    If the StdLib.hlsl file is in fact present, you can right-click it and choose "Re-import", usually this nudges things back into place.
     
  6. GossamerGames

    GossamerGames

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2017
    Posts:
    30
    I am using version 2.1.3

    I did reimport and it seems that the files are there now, I just had to reimport from the Asset Store, however, now I have a new issue after reimporting. It seems that in SCPE.hlsl is missing the identifier "RT_ARG" here is the error code I am getting for that.

    "
    unrecognized identifier 'RT_ARG'
    Compiling Vertex program
    Platform defines: UNITY_ENABLE_REFLECTION_BUFFERS UNITY_USE_DITHER_MASK_FOR_ALPHABLENDED_SHADOWS UNITY_PBS_USE_BRDF1 UNITY_SPECCUBE_BOX_PROJECTION UNITY_SPECCUBE_BLENDING UNITY_ENABLE_DETAIL_NORMALMAP SHADER_API_DESKTOP UNITY_LIGHT_PROBE_PROXY_VOLUME UNITY_LIGHTMAP_FULL_HDR "

    EDIT: Apparently this was also fixed when I reimported, AGAIN. However, now I am getting new errors, it seems every reimport I am fixing old errors and getting new ones.

    The current errors are:
    1: Assets\SC Post Effects\Effects\Invert\Invert.cs(20,30): error CS0115: 'Invert.IsEnabledAndSupported(PostProcessRenderContext)': no suitable method found to override

    2: Assets\SC Post Effects\Effects\Invert\Invert.cs(32,27): error CS0311: The type 'SCPE.Invert' cannot be used as type parameter 'T' in the generic type or method 'PostProcessEffectRenderer<T>'. There is no implicit reference conversion from 'SCPE.Invert' to 'UnityEngine.Rendering.PostProcessing.PostProcessEffectSettings'.

    FINAL EDIT: The SC installation manager popped up and said that I am using Unity version 2018.4.26f1 which is incompatible. I imagine that I cannot use the invert shaders in this version, although I know this package used to work in this unity version. As I do not need the invert shaders. I have just deleted them from the project. Thank you so much for the help!
     
    Last edited: Sep 14, 2020
  7. StaggartCreations

    StaggartCreations

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Posts:
    1,183
    If you're getting these kind of seemingly unwarranted shader errors, it can make a difference if you delete you Library/ShaderCache folder. Which will trigger Unity to recompile all shaders in the project from scratch.

    Deleting the Invert files is okay, these were deleted anyway (now incorporated into the Color Grading LUT effect). But updating a package doesn't track deletions, so any obsolete files will always remain unfortunately. The update from v1.0.2 to v2.0.0 required to delete the entire folder, since files were also moved, Unity package also don't track this.

    The Unity 2019.1+ restriction is solely because of assembly definitions. You can work around this by adding the PPS define symbol to your project to the same effect. Next to ensuring the assemblies from the Post Processing package are properly reference in those of the SCPE package. In 2019.1+ this is done "automatically". But I'm guessing you've already done this if you're on 2018.4 ;)
     
    GossamerGames likes this.
  8. oik976

    oik976

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2012
    Posts:
    17
    Hi there! I've been messing around with the Kuruhawa filter, and it gives really beautiful results, but I'm having trouble keeping my frame rates up. I'll be the first to admit that my laptop is not exactly cutting edge (my GPU is an NVidia Quadro M2200). Has anyone worked with it on something a little more capable? From looking at some online benchmarks, it looks like updating to a GeForce 2060 (or even the 1080) would improve rendering performance by 3-4 times. Also, does anyone have any tips on how to optimize your use of the filter to keep it running a little faster?

    No harm done to me if there isn't really an answer to either question. Mostly I've been experimenting, and worst case scenario I can bake in a similar painterly effect to the texture maps themselves.
     
  9. StaggartCreations

    StaggartCreations

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Posts:
    1,183
    This isn't out of the ordinary ;) The effect has to perform a lot of operations per-pixel to achieve its result. The only way to reduce the performance footprint is to keep the "radius" value as low as possible, or to run the game at a lower resolution. I personally don't see a noticeable difference in render time with the effect enabled, but that's on a GTX 1060
     
  10. knas01

    knas01

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2018
    Posts:
    76
    Hi, I have this problem there particles are rendered behind fog. I'm using your screen space fog with the Visual effect graph (default renderer) and and if there is empty space behind the particles and fog they are rendered behind the fog. Do you have any suggestion what I can do?
     

    Attached Files:

  11. TimeStrafer

    TimeStrafer

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2012
    Posts:
    23
    Hi. I've been messing around with the posterization effect and I noticed that it produces different results depending on the projects color space. Initially I was using gamma colorspace because of the way it shades geometry. But I switched to linear colorspace with the intention of using a ramp shader to emulate gamma shading and now the colors are distorted. Do you know why this occurs? I can sort of fix it in linear colorspace by disabling sRGB on the texture. But it still doesn't look right. I may end up just sticking with gamma colorspace, but I would like to take advantage of linear colorspace.

    LinearGammaColors_2.png
     
  12. StaggartCreations

    StaggartCreations

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Posts:
    1,183
    Please see this post ;) https://forum.unity.com/threads/sc-...fects-built-in-urp.513191/page-6#post-5594281

    Thanks for the headsup! Is this using the RGB or HSV mode? The shader likely needs to convert color spaces, before returning the result, currently it doesn't. But I'll have to check this so it returns a consistent result.
     
  13. knas01

    knas01

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2018
    Posts:
    76
  14. TimeStrafer

    TimeStrafer

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2012
    Posts:
    23
    Cool. RGB mode, but HSV returns same result.
     
    StaggartCreations likes this.
  15. StaggartCreations

    StaggartCreations

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Posts:
    1,183
    If there is nothing behind the particles (eg. skybox), the particles will receive 100% fog since the pixels are perceived as infinitely far away. You'd have to add something like a plane mesh behind them.
     
  16. knas01

    knas01

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2018
    Posts:
    76
    Right that's what I have to do, it looks like.

    But for something completely different; Would it be possible to get Playmaker actions for this asset?
     
  17. StaggartCreations

    StaggartCreations

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Posts:
    1,183
    Sorry, I have no plans to realize this, as it would require to create a script for every parameter of every effect, and again for the URP volume system. Which would amount to hundreds of scripts.
     
  18. bac9-flcl

    bac9-flcl

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012
    Posts:
    800
    @StaggartCreations
    I'm getting a problem with the fog effect - it nigh unusable with Postprocessing Stack V2 temporal AA enabled, as fog silhouette on every object with distant background jitters with extreme intensity. Is there a way to work around that, perhaps by changing the order in which fog effect runs?
     

    Attached Files:

  19. StaggartCreations

    StaggartCreations

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Posts:
    1,183
    I think it's because the pixels next to the trees are much further away. If the "Jitter spread" parameter is set too high (default 0.62) this is noticable, you can see here bringing it down to 0 removes the artifacts from edges
    taa_jitter.gif

    I assume this is because TAA only applied to the image color, but not the underlying depth texture, which is what the fog effect uses. So the color is being jittered, but the depth isn't, meaning it'll be most noticeable on silhouettes, where neighboring pixels often have different depth values.
     
  20. EGA

    EGA

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2014
    Posts:
    64
    If I upgrade my project to URP, how do I update SC Post Processing that I've already installed to be compatible with URP?

    Edit: nevermind, it works if I set it to use Post Processing V2 (although it will get deprecated later).
     
  21. StaggartCreations

    StaggartCreations

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Posts:
    1,183
    If you want switch to URP (or rather the volume system) you'll have to ensure the Post Processing package is uninstalled and URP is installed, then unpack the _UniversalRenderPipeline package found in the asset's root folder. This will overwrite all the effect scripts with a URP-compatible variant.
     
  22. EGA

    EGA

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2014
    Posts:
    64
  23. StaggartCreations

    StaggartCreations

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Posts:
    1,183
    Yeah that card is pretty confusing since it claims custom post processing isn't at all possible right now, while it is. I've seen some vague mentions of a dedicated post processing system (much like HDRP has) being planned, so it may be about that.
     
  24. AntWorkshop

    AntWorkshop

    Joined:
    May 23, 2018
    Posts:
    2
    Hi there, is there a known issue with the tilt shift mode not changing? Just installed the asset and when I switch to "radial" we're still just getting a horizontal effect - confirmed with the "visualise area" debug. Tried in 2019.2 and 2019.4

    Cheers,

     
  25. StaggartCreations

    StaggartCreations

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Posts:
    1,183
    Yes, this has been corrected in the upcoming update, which is unfortunately still pending since it still needs extensive testing.

    The problem lies with the fact that the buttons don't have an "override" checkbox. You can get around this clicking the "All" button, which also overrides the Mode/Quality parameters under the hood.
     
    FreakyZoid likes this.
unityunity