Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Saving game data for WebGL

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by PlazmaInteractive, Sep 28, 2016.

1. PlazmaInteractive

PlazmaInteractive

Hey guys! As I'm getting closer and closer to finishing my first game, I'm now focusing a bit more on other parts of my project and that is saving game datas. I've researched a bit in the last couple of weeks on this and has come across some answers but I want to know which one should I choose. As I'm very new at this kind of things, it'll be best if you explain it in a basic way :)

So, my plan is to upload my games to Kongregate and I'm also interested with GameJolt too. As I already told you before, I have found some answers and the first one is PlayerPrefs. I haven't learned PlayerPrefs extensively as of now (plan to do so) but I do know a bit about it and so far, it seems to be the promising one. While it is currently the one I'm going for, I've seen other threads that said PlayerPrefs is not working or something so I've come here to find out more. Will PlayerPrefs work on sites such as Kongregate/GameJolt?

My second option is using server-side programming and MySQL which is totally new to me. I've come across a site named EasyPHP and phpMyAdmin and wondered if that will work for saving data in WebGL games. Also, I need to know if using this option is necessary for what I'm achieving or if it isn't needed as there's PlayerPrefs, though I will definitely study this because it seems useful in the future.

Thanks!

2. Brathnann

Brathnann

PlayerPrefs doesn't work in webGL on any website that host your game in an iFrame. This includes Facebook and (last I heard) also Kongregate. I'm not familiar with GameJolt.

We use a free backend service instead for our data.