Search Unity

Saving and loading complex objects

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by SVKsuli, Feb 15, 2020.

1. SVKsuli

SVKsuli

Hello, im just learning how to save and load game data and all tutorials i found are like create one script with few basic int or string properties and few lines of codes to save/load this data, but i never found anything about
    • how to do this with more complex gameobjects, (builded from many child objects with different components which could be changed in runtime like color in materials)
    • how to build scene back how it was last time,
    • how to manage to save dozens of different scripts (have all saveable data at one place or have copy of same code to save all scripts one by one)
    Im doing Sim City like game and i wonder how i going to save whole scene. I just need to save progress.

2. Joe-Censored

Joe-Censored

Generally you just do these complex GameObjects the same as the simple ones, but you just have a lot more data to save. Come up with a serialization scheme for each script. Then in a "master" script on the GameObject and you have it call the serialization methods on all these other scripts, and packages it all up together. Then you have some system in your game which either finds all these GameObjects which need to be serialized, or just maintain a list of references to all these GameObjects. Then you have a method you call there, which goes through the entire list of GameObjects collecting all of their serialized data, and you package it all up into a single save file.

When you restore the scene you basically reverse the process. You load all the data from disk. You go through and one by one recreate the GameObjects based on the saved data, and then you recreate the correct child objects and state of their scripts from the saved data.

You can use your own custom save format, you can use text formats like JSON or even CSV, or whatever you want.

3. Yoreki

Yoreki