Search Unity

Saving a RPG all enemy positions

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by not_DiSE, Feb 18, 2019.

1. not_DiSE

not_DiSE

Hello , I am new to unity and I am making a RPG game . I have already done saving the HP and others with PlayerPrefs . But now I need to save positions of all enemies , their HP ... . How do I save these ?

2. Joe-Censored

Joe-Censored

You'd serialize all this data to save to disk in some manner. The exact manner is up to you, and may depend on what platform you are building for. You should look into Unity's built in JSON support as a starting point, though there's plenty of other ways.

Pixelith likes this.
  3. Samuel411

Samuel411

I made a blog post about using binary serialization but it can easily be converted to be used for Json using the JSON.NET extension.

Here's the blog post: http://samuelarminana.com/index.php/2019/02/03/binary-serialization-in-unity/.

It should cover everything in terms of how you'd go about doing this. I also made another post for object specific savings which I use in my game currently that piggy backs off my serialization post. Here it is, https://samuelarminana.com/index.php/2019/01/25/dynamic-objects-saving-and-loading/.

You might want to ask on the Programming section of the forums as well.

4. BrandStone

BrandStone

Step 1 (on save)
    Go through all your enemy positions and save them in a save file (as described above)

Step 2 (on load)
    Go through the saved positions and spawn the enemies.

Quite simple if you have a save system in place.

5. infinitypbr

infinitypbr

While I don't know the best answer, please do NOT use PlayerPrefs for this :D I made that mistake years ago, and it's one of the reasons I couldn't upgrade my game once I got better at coding, as it was way too boilerplate.

angrypenguin and BrandStone like this.
  6. BrandStone

BrandStone

Yep, player prefs are mostly for saving stuf like resolution or sound volume although i also save those in a binary file.