Search Unity

Feedback Save / Save As.. buttons instead of (Prepare / Build) for Content Update

Discussion in 'Addressables' started by CyRaid, Jun 6, 2019.

  1. CyRaid

    CyRaid

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2015
    Posts:
    80
    Instead of a two step process, where sometimes people can forget (as shown in the Unity Video ;) ). What I'm guessing the Prepare for Content Update and Build for Content Update does, is it needs the original file to compare what changes to make, then you want to be able to apply the changes..

    My suggestion would be to have a 'working file' perhaps, and when you make changes, you can save them? That way you could have an enabled save button if it needs saving (kinda like the new prefab system). Since it's similar, it wouldn't be foreign for people to understand how that works and can apply to both systems.

    (A Save As.. button as well incase you want to save the changes as a different file, as the build for content update allows you to choose a new file as well)