Search Unity

Save building that the player created in runtime.

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by AnipGames, Apr 2, 2019.

1. AnipGames

AnipGames

Hello.
    I am making a building game and I need a script to save the buildings that the player created in runtime. Is that possible? I am a noob with scripting so sorry if this is very easy. ;)

2. lordofduct

lordofduct

This is not exactly "easy" or trivial, and actually depends on your design.

In what way are they "building" things? Do they put a bunch of prefab objects you make available to them together? In that case, you should store a list of the the names of the prefabs they used, and the position/rotation/scale information for them. Maybe even the parenting information if that's also part of it.

Are they building meshes at runtime via some editor you created that allows them to create meshes by modifying/adding verts? In that case you should save the mesh information into some container. You could use one of the many existing formats like *.obj or something, OR your own custom one.

Or is what you're building something completely different from what I just said? In that case... I don't know... we need to know the parameters of your situation.

I'm willing to bet there are assets in the asset store that give you 'saving' options like you want. But they'll come with certain limitations/parameters based on that specific assets idea of what you can edit/save. So you'd need to find the specific one that meets your needs.

3. AnipGames

AnipGames

Yeah, it is the first one, the player has the option to place a wall or a roof or a door.

4. Joe-Censored

Joe-Censored

You will need to serialize all the data needed to recreate the object and save it somewhere.

The data you need serializing will depend on the object and your game, but it likely consists of things like position, rotation, scale, type of object (so you know what prefab to use to recreate it), maybe color, whatever the player can customize.