Search Unity

Bug Сamera flip during flythrough mode

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by EdMSL, Jun 23, 2021.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. EdMSL

    EdMSL

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2020
    Posts:
    11
    Hi. In Unity 2020 LTS and 2021.1 I have a problem: camera flips 360 degrees when I move the mouse during flythrough (right btn + WASD), even in new project without assets. This problem is not in 2019.4.

    Some ideas?
     
  2. Kurt-Dekker

    Kurt-Dekker

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013
    Posts:
    38,697
    I would look into Cinemachine to handle your camera stuff.

    https://unity.com/unity/features/editor/art-and-design/cinemachine

    Free from the package manager.

    Otherwise if you want to debug your own camera control, here's some steps to try:

    To help gain more insight into your problem, I recommend liberally sprinkling Debug.Log() statements through your code to display information in realtime.

    Doing this should help you answer these types of questions:

    - is this code even running? which parts are running? how often does it run? what order does it run in?
    - what are the values of the variables involved? Are they initialized? Are the values reasonable?

    Knowing this information will help you reason about the behavior you are seeing.

    You can also put in Debug.Break() to pause the Editor when certain interesting pieces of code run, and then study the scene

    You could also just display various important quantities in UI Text elements to watch them change as you play the game.

    If you are running a mobile device you can also view the console output. Google for how on your particular mobile target.

    Here's an example of putting in a laser-focused Debug.Log() and how that can save you a TON of time wallowing around speculating what might be going wrong:

    https://forum.unity.com/threads/coroutine-missing-hint-and-error.1103197/#post-7100494
     
  3. PraetorBlue

    PraetorBlue

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2012
    Posts:
    7,909
    Seems like a bug. File it as such.

    @Kurt-Dekker this question is about scene view navigation.
     
    Kurt-Dekker likes this.
  4. EdMSL

    EdMSL

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2020
    Posts:
    11
    As PraetorBlue says, problem in the scene view, not in game.
     
    Kurt-Dekker likes this.
  5. EdMSL

    EdMSL

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2020
    Posts:
    11
    Should I create a bugreport?
     
  6. PraetorBlue

    PraetorBlue

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2012
    Posts:
    7,909
  7. EdMSL

    EdMSL

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2020
    Posts:
    11
  8. IlyaSakhatskiy

    IlyaSakhatskiy

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2017
    Posts:
    8
    Hello!

    Stumbled in the same bug as TS. Turns out that was PuntoSwitcher (third party software runnig in background) to blame.
    To resolve this issue you have to disable Punto altogether or add Unity to exception list in PuntoSwitcher-s settings AND toggle on option
    "Do not interact with programms from exceptions list" in PuntoSwitcher Settings->Troubleshooting.

    Have no idea why it worked just fine in 2019 and not in 2020 LTS.

    Worked for me, hope it'll work for you.
     
  9. EdMSL

    EdMSL

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2020
    Posts:
    11
    Yes, it works for me too. And it resolved a problem with terrain brushes hotkeys too.
    Thanks for help:)
     
  10. SquareBunnyBoy

    SquareBunnyBoy

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2020
    Posts:
    27
    wow, friend! Thank you so much!! This bug driving me crazy for a months!! And it was just god damn punto switcher!!
     
  11. Sett-0

    Sett-0

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2022
    Posts:
    1
    You are my savior! Thank you very much!
     
    fanlinp123 likes this.
  12. fanlinp123

    fanlinp123

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2022
    Posts:
    2
    F**ing hell... Thank you for this solve! Punto switcher, you had to fight evil Not to join it!
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.