Search Unity

  1. Are you interested in providing feedback directly to Unity teams? Sign up to become a member of Unity Pulse, our new product feedback and research community.
    Dismiss Notice

RuntimeNavMeshBuilder: Source mesh xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx does not allow read access.

Discussion in 'General Graphics' started by garrettstamand, Jan 13, 2018.

  1. garrettstamand

    garrettstamand

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2017
    Posts:
    4
    "This will work in playmode in the editor but not in the player."

    I bought an asset pack, but when i try to use the prefabs in a scene I get that error for every single one. Apparently all the models do not allow read access. I cannot for the life of me figure out how to enable read access, why it would be disabled by default, or why I am running into this problem when googling suggests that nobody else has.

    Any help would be greatly appreciated.
     
  2. Antony-Blackett

    Antony-Blackett

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Posts:
    1,737
    You should be able to select the asset and on the Model Importer settings there should be a check box 'Read/Write Enable'.
     
    Last edited: May 5, 2021
  3. garrettstamand

    garrettstamand

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2017
    Posts:
    4
    Can't believe I missed that. Thanks a lot
     
  4. fluffyfrogstudios

    fluffyfrogstudios

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2018
    Posts:
    3
    nice. cant believe i missed this as well
     
  5. atur94

    atur94

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2019
    Posts:
    9
    nice. I also missed it that
     
  6. niuage

    niuage

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2019
    Posts:
    35
    Phew, that fixed it.
     
  7. jason_skillman

    jason_skillman

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2020
    Posts:
    8
    Thanks a bunch, that did the trick.
     
  8. cosmicninja

    cosmicninja

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
    Posts:
    2
    I bumped into this error message and even though my models were enabled for read/write and static was ticked off
    the problem still persisted.
    So I tried In the Inspector / on NavMeshSurface panel setting the Use Geometry option to Physics Collider.
    Now it works.
     
  9. Recluse

    Recluse

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Posts:
    455
    I'm getting this a lot. Problem is, I don't want the meshes to be readable, nor do I want them to be considered for navigation. How can I ensure the runtime Navmesh builder ignores them?
     
unityunity