Search Unity

Running "behind the scenes actors"

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by micahneveu, Feb 1, 2021.

1. micahneveu

micahneveu

Using Unity, I have a combat "simulator" (right now, just some cubes shooting each other). But, long-term I want to have NPC "league members" that fight other league members. I don't need any of it rendered I just need them to fight each other with the same game mechanics a player (running the game) would use fighting another player or NPC member.

My plan would be to spin up some docker linux images running a "copy" of the battler and then each would pick their own target to fight and record their results (via an API to a centralized game manager).

My question isn't about how to do all that other stuff (I can create the APIs and Docker images no problem), it is about this:

tl;dr:
    Can Unity be run in a way where NO input is required and has no rendering with a reasonably small footprint (to run a bunch in docker containers)?

2. kdgalla

kdgalla

Why? Why not pick a winner at random? It won't make any difference to the player how you determine the winner in a fight that they can't see or affect in any way.

3. neginfinity

neginfinity

You apparently can make a server build which will run without rendering.

See here:
    https://docs.unity3d.com/2018.3/Documentation/Manual/BuildSettings.html

However, it apparently will be still able to play sounds, and it is not necessarily going to be tiny.

Unity had a "Project tiny" for the purposes of making small footprint builds, but I'm not sure if this is compatible with server build.

What you are trying to do sounds like a cluster sort of simulation and might not be necessarily the right way to do it, although this is debatable.

In your place, I'd consider trying to abstract away combat mechanics, turn them into a C# library. In this case Unity would be used as a rendering API.

micahneveu likes this.
  4. neginfinity

neginfinity