Search Unity

RPG Maker style exp curve

Discussion in 'Immediate Mode GUI (IMGUI)' started by zafuri, Sep 30, 2018.

1. zafuri

zafuri

Hi,

This is my first time posting on a forum but here goes, I am looking to make a custom editor for creating a player etc. similar to RPG Maker, i have a good understanding now of how to do it but i am stuck on one part in particular. I want to create an experience curve and stats curve like in RPG Maker where it has like intractable progress bars that can set the value for each level up one by one. I understand it could mean making 99 small progress bars to reflect this however i do not know if Unity can do this or if there is a good alternative. I tried "EditorGUI.ProgressBar" which can show a value with a little math but this is not intractable. I know there is also animation curves that can be set but i don't know if this would be a suitable alternative or how to implement it. If it helps i am using a Custom Editor Window and i code in C#, i am completely self taught so there might be stuff i am completely unaware of. I would be grateful of any help or at least pointing in the right direction so i can figure something out. Thanks in advance

Attached Files:

2. brownboot67

brownboot67

Animation curves are a good option, you should investigate those.

karl_jones likes this.
  3. eses

eses

@zafuri

What @brownboot67 said - There is an example in manual, you basically add keyframes, that create a curve:
    https://docs.unity3d.com/ScriptReference/AnimationCurve-ctor.html

It's also editable.

Just curious - in your image I only see linear graphs (six different colors). Do you mean that it is possible to somehow drag these with mouse to change their shape? Also, having such graphs for levels sounds pretty inaccurate for leveling system if there is no numerical entry.