Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

RPG Damage Type vs Armor Type and/or Resistance

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by diagadumah, Dec 11, 2018.

1. diagadumah

diagadumah

Greetings!
    This is my first post here, so quick introduction... I have been learning C# and Unity for the past little while, and I think I've got at least a decent grasp on things. That said, I am also not a programmer, in my day to day game dev I am an artist, so, please be gentle :D

On to my question.. So, I was wondering if anyone could help me figure out a clean way to "bind" for lack of better term, a damage type to a resistance or armor type without having to do 100 different If() checks or switch statements with passed through arguments. With the amount of knowledge I have, I feel like there has to be a better way to do what I want, but I still lack enough knowledge to actually know what that would be, or of course I could just be entirely wrong lol.

The scenario: you attack an enemy (or an enemy attacks you), based on the damage type of the attack, I want to put that attack against a matching armor or resistance type and have the damage resolve. Currently I have two enums, one for DamageType, the other for ResistanceType, and I am just passing the damage type through as an argument for the Attack(). Which means I basically have to do a switch or if() check on the DamageType to put that against the ResistanceType, to reduce the damage done by the ResistanceType Value (which I already have as a variable), and as I said, doing it that way doesn't feel like the "right" way to me.

Apologies for the long post, and thanks in advance for the help, I could really use some :)

2. exiguous

exiguous