Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Rotating UVs around pivot

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by PROE_, Apr 26, 2020.

1. PROE_

PROE_

Hi, I was making decal system lately and everything was going fine until I got some UVs errors and got a need for proper rotation. I'm totally new to matrices so maybe that's why I'm having such a problems :/

The problem is with the Z component rotation. It looks like this without any rotation:
    upload_2020-4-26_11-26-58.png
    And rotating it by 5 degrees make UVs go in the opposite direction...
    upload_2020-4-26_11-32-21.png
    And rotating it by 90 degrees makes it even smaller :confused:
    upload_2020-4-26_11-34-54.png

Here's the code for that part:
    Code (CSharp):
    1.         public Vector2[] CalculateUVs(Mesh mesh)
    2.         {
    3.             var vertices = mesh.vertices;
    4.             var normals = mesh.normals;
    5.             var uvs = new Vector2[vertices.Length];
    7.             var rect = DecalSprite.rect;
    8.             Vector2 texSize = new Vector2(DecalSprite.texture.width, DecalSprite.texture.height);
    10.             Rect correctedRect = new Rect(rect.x / texSize.x, rect.y / texSize.y, rect.width / texSize.x, rect.height / texSize.y);
    11.             Vector3 offset = new Vector2(correctedRect.x + correctedRect.width / 2, correctedRect.y + correctedRect.height / 2);
    12.             Vector3 size = new Vector3(correctedRect.width / transform.lossyScale.x, correctedRect.height / transform.lossyScale.y, correctedRect.width / transform.lossyScale.z);
    14.             for (var i = 0; i < uvs.Length; i++)
    15.             {
    16.                 if (Mathf.Abs(normals[i].x) > Mathf.Abs(normals[i].y) && Mathf.Abs(normals[i].x) > Mathf.Abs(normals[i].z))
    17.                 {