Search Unity

Rotate camera on the Y axis

Discussion in 'Cinemachine' started by Tinniman, May 9, 2022.

1. Tinniman

Tinniman

Hi.
    I am new to Cinemachine and Unity but like what I have achieved so far. My character is a car and I am using virtual camera to have the camera follow it. It works fine.

Still, I have an issue I hope you guys can help me with:)

In order to travel around the world I need to have buttons (and keyboard) be able to control the Y axis for the camera. I have no clue about coding so I am hoping there is an easy solution like in visual scripting or playmaker.

I am moving my project from Buildbox to Unity and I have attached a video file ( from BB) that shows what I am trying to achieve.

Rotate camera in BB:
    https://drive.google.com/file/d/1ZLT84fiY6b-2LM51WofPbyozG4ogvyyq/view

Hope someone replies:)

2. Gregoryl

Gregoryl

Unity Technologies

If you put OrbitalTransposer in the Body section of the vcam, then it will expose a rotation axis that you can connect to the input system. By default it will be set to "Mouse X" but you can change it so that a different input source controls it.

upload_2022-5-10_11-59-54.png

3. Tinniman

Tinniman

Thanks for the reply!
    Some questions:
    1. When I do this the camera start to rotate in akward ways when driving. ( I can post a video). I was behaving perfect when I used framing focus. I want it to not rotate at all but only with butttons. Like the video I posted.
    2. Can it be controlled with two buttons back and forth?

4. Gregoryl

Gregoryl

Unity Technologies

Do you have WorldSpace binding mode (as in my image)?

5. Tinniman

Tinniman

Yes. Weird behaviour. The camera does not follow the car but just moves directly forward. If I touch the mouse the camera still does not follow but takes large turns around the screen.