Search Unity

Root motion added to in-place animation but character still not moving forward.

Discussion in 'Animation' started by Maegwin, Mar 16, 2015.

1. Maegwin

Maegwin

I have a non-human character I modelled and animated in Maya. It has an in-place walk cycle. I was asked to add a root motion to the walk-cycle animation in Maya. I did that. The character now takes a couple steps forward along the Z axis. I made sure the root joint of the skeleton (hips) was selected when I keyed the forward Z animation.

I baked the animation, exported the FBX and opened it in Unity. I'm still quite new to Unity and I may be simply missing a step.

In the tutorial I was using, their character moves forward smoothly across the grid in the preview window after they apply the humanoid rig and make sure all the bones are green in Mecanim.

Being that my character is not humanoid (has backward bending knees) I cannot apply the Mecanim Humanoid rig or it breaks my characters legs. I'm not sure how to apply the the Mecanim settings to a non-human character using a generic rig.

That said, I tried applying the humanoid rig any ways like the tutorial suggested and made sure all of my settings matched the tutorial's. All of the bones were green (except for the toes, hence the wonky feet of the character in the preview window). My Translate Z velocity was above point zero as well (at 0.897). But my character still did not move forward. It still popped back to it's start frame repeatedly in the preview window.

See the screenshot below.

How do I get this working?

animation_settings.jpg

2. medhue

medhue

OK, first, you don't need to use the HUMANOID rig. Just use GENERIC. I know it's confusing, as I made the same mistake thinking this, but MECANIM really has nothing to do with the HUMANIOD rig, but the whole system to use your animations. I think.;)