Search Unity

Rigidbody velocity close to 0 when moving

Discussion in 'Physics' started by gregor039, Sep 1, 2019.

1. gregor039

gregor039

Hello,

I am quite new to Unity and am at a loss with the velocity of Rigidbodies.

In my scene, I have a terrain, cube with a box collider (default settings), a Rigidbody (default settings), and the following script.

Code (CSharp):
    2. using UnityEngine;
    4. public class test : MonoBehaviour
    5. {
    7.     void Update()
    8.     {
    9.         float horizontalMovement = Input.GetAxis("Horizontal");
    10.         float verticalMovement = Input.GetAxis("Vertical");
    12.         float movementMultiplyer = 2f;
    14.         if (verticalMovement != 0)
    15.         {
    16.             transform.Translate(Vector3.forward * verticalMovement * Time.deltaTime * movementMultiplyer);
    17.         }
    19.         if (horizontalMovement != 0)
    20.         {
    21.             transform.Translate(Vector3.right * horizontalMovement * Time.deltaTime * movementMultiplyer);
    22.         }
    24.         Debug.Log(transform.GetComponent<Rigidbody>().velocity.z);
    26.     }
    27. }
    When moving the cube I want to read its forward velocity.
    Somehow the cube moves at around 2 units/s, but the Debug output prints values in the range of E-07 to E-05, so basically 0.
    As the Unity Documentation stats:
    Did I understand smth. wrong/where did I make a mistake/how to get the actual speed along an axis?

2. Edy

Edy

transform.Translate just "teleports" the object, so that's not perceived as velocity. You should either move the rigidbody using the Rigidbody.AddForce method, or mark it as Kinematic and use Rigidbody.MovePosition and Rigidbody.MoveRotation. In both cases you must call those methods from FixedUpdate, not from Update.

EDIT: Welcome to Unity! :)

3. gregor039

gregor039

Thank you!

The Documentation threw me off with
    . :D