Search Unity

Rigidbody vehicle with wheels navigating a grid-based maze

Discussion in 'Physics' started by dewzero, Jan 9, 2019.

1. dewzero

dewzero

Hi all,
    I'm pretty new to Unity (though not new to coding or C#) and am struggling with finding the best setup for what I'm trying to achieve... so I thought I'd reach out for help. I've tried many different approaches but nothing seems to work quite "right".

I want a vehicle (3D) that can go around a grid-based maze (think a pacman layout in 3D) so it pretty much just drives north/south/east/west and the user can only tell it to turn when it gets to a corner (left or right). I'm currently using a rigidbody with raycast suspension and it's being accelerated by using addForce(). Now this is where I'm getting stuck... When the car turns a corner it needs to turn smoothly, not an "about face" like pacman, it should drive a nice quarter-circle turn (ideally with a little drifting and banking for realism). Because I'm using forces to control velocity I don't seem to have enough control to do a precise turn and end up perfectly aligned with the grid. I've read that "correcting" the built in physics isn't such a great idea. I've tried various waypoint based ideas but no luck so far.

I've been tempted to purchase some kind of traffic or train/rails asset, but they can be quite expensive and I'm not sure they would quite do the trick and retain the realism of a car, with suspension, sliding around a corner.

Anyway, I've been pulling my hair out on this one. I'm probably over thinking it - I certainly don't know what I don't know ;) I'd love to hear from someone much more experienced... how would you approach this car-in-a-maze scenario?

Cheers.

2. Edy

Edy

Hi, and welcome to Unity forums!

First I'd create a car you can drive manually, and behave as you expect. You may try any approach here:
    • Single Rigidbody.
    • Rigidbody car + Rigidbody wheels attached with Joints.
    • Rigidbody + WheelCollider.