Search Unity

Rigid body marble on terrain

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by leolicos, Dec 1, 2010.

1. leolicos

leolicos

Hello, I'm new to unity and I'm really having trouble getting a simple "marble madness" type simulation running. I have a couple issues:

It appears as though the gravity force is really small; the ball never falls at a fast enough rate. When I position the ball in the air, set the mass to say 1000 and run the game, the ball falls really slow.

Next, I'm not sure if it's because of that or something else, but when I move the ball with the control keys and add torque force to spin it to get it to move, the ball either doesn't move fast enough, or if I add a lot of force, it moves so fast that it spins really fast before the friction allows it to actually move the ball. Even when I have a physics material on the ball and the terrain both dynamic and station friction set to 1, I get the same results.

What seems to be the problem??

2. hallamasch

hallamasch

I am not to experienced with the physic system yet, but I read in the Documentation, about the drag and angular drag coefficients.
    Check here, this might be related to your problem.

http://unity3d.com/support/documentation/Components/class-Rigidbody.html

Drag How much air resistance affects the object when moving from forces. 0 means no air resistance, and infinity makes the object stop moving immediately.

Angular Drag How much air resistance affects the object when rotating from torque. 0 means no air resistance, and infinity makes the object stop rotating immediately.

3. leolicos

leolicos

I found the problem. I needed to add more gravity, but I couldn't find where to change the gravity that unity uses, so I just added a ConstantForce component and added it there. Is that the main approach people use? Or are there others? Also, where do I change the value of gravity that unity uses when "use gravity" is checked in a collider?

4. hallamasch

hallamasch