Search Unity

Right-click + WASD not working in scene view

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by tenfour, Jan 3, 2012.

  1. tenfour

    tenfour

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012
    Posts:
    7
    I'm just starting with Unity (Mac version). When I first opened it, there was a sample game, AngryBots open. I was able to navigate through the scene by holding right-click and using the WASD keys.

    After creating a new project to try some tutorials, this no longer works. A and D work for sideways movement, but not W and S for forward and back. However, if I hold W or S down for a few seconds, the near or far clip plane slides through my scene and hides/shows everything from view.

    I tried creating another new project and still have the same problem.

    Any ideas?

    Thanks.
     
    Last edited: Jan 9, 2012
  2. tenfour

    tenfour

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012
    Posts:
    7
    My thought is that there must be some simple toggle that I hit and can't find any more. Does anyone know about this? Thanks.
     
  3. tenfour

    tenfour

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012
    Posts:
    7
    Finally figured it out. I was in ortho mode. Worked fine after switching back to perspective (by clicking the cube in the axis gizmo in the upper-right corner).
     
  4. playablegames

    playablegames

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2015
    Posts:
    1
    Thank you for posting your resolution! I clicked this by accident too and had no idea what was going on.
     
  5. IkeoMajesty

    IkeoMajesty

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2018
    Posts:
    1
    Thank you!
     
  6. esthergeenen

    esthergeenen

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2017
    Posts:
    1
    Thank you!!
     
  7. kubaka

    kubaka

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2019
    Posts:
    2
    Thanks! This really helped me out.. Thought I was going crazy there for a minute !:)
     
  8. unity_pgAAqqBRRGSR_A

    unity_pgAAqqBRRGSR_A

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    Omg, awesome, thanks!
     
  9. scottseeker

    scottseeker

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    Thanks for answering, I worked in ortho mode for a day and didn't know how I had switched it.