Search Unity

  1. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Question [Rider] I can't debug players built with another machine than mine

Discussion in 'Code Editors & IDEs' started by Midiphony-panda, Feb 24, 2022.

  1. Midiphony-panda

    Midiphony-panda

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2020
    Posts:
    242
    Hello, this is kind of a follow-up of this thread : https://forum.unity.com/threads/i-cant-debug-il2cpp-build-with-rider.1157870/

    I am unable to debug players built with another machine than mine, on Rider.

    It seems Rider is able to attach itself to the running player, but the following error is displayed on my breakpoints :
    Tooltip Rider.png
    [someScript].cs it not found among the loaded symbol documents


    I don't know anyone at my studio who is able to debug/break in this use case.

    I feel like this is a very common use case in game studios, with build servers releasing builds periodically.
    Is this a known issue ? Are there some workarounds ?


    Jetbrains redirected me to this ticket :
    https://youtrack.jetbrains.com/issue/RIDER-66147

    Thanks !
     
    Last edited: Feb 28, 2022
  2. Midiphony-panda

    Midiphony-panda

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2020
    Posts:
    242
  3. citizenmatt

    citizenmatt

    JetBrains Employee

    Joined:
    May 9, 2017
    Posts:
    9
    Hi all. Just to let you know that we’re aware of the issue, and the impact it can have. We haven’t been able to address this in Rider 2022.1, which is just about to be released, but it is scheduled for the following major release - 2022.2, due in a few months. There is a comment on the issue linked above with a couple of things you can try as a workaround, but they’re not ideal - a second copy of the source in the same location, or links/junction points in the file system. Apologies for the inconvenience, we’ll get this supported as soon as we can.
     
  4. KHagen95

    KHagen95

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2019
    Posts:
    18
    @citizenmatt is there any update on the bug? I've hit the same issue, where I have our games built via a CI server and when I try to debug it on my machine, I can't with Rider. Tried and tested in Rider 2022.2.2 and 2022.2.3 and I can't debug in either version, which is quite detrimental to workflows of course.

    Would be happy to see a fix soon!
     
  5. sinaari

    sinaari

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2019
    Posts:
    38
    If you're seeing this when working with Unity then try clicking the "Regenerate Project Files" button in Unity's Preferences->External Tools, and also maybe clearing all the Rider cache.
     
    Midiphony-panda likes this.