Search Unity

  1. Welcome to the Unity Forums! Please take the time to read our Code of Conduct to familiarize yourself with the forum rules and how to post constructively.
  2. Join us on Dec 8, 2022, between 7 am & 7 pm EST, in the DOTS Dev Blitz Day 2022 - Q&A forum, Discord, and Unity3D Subreddit to learn more about DOTS directly from the Unity Developers.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Have a look at our Games Focus blog post series which will show what Unity is doing for all game developers – now, next year, and in the future.
    Dismiss Notice

<RI.Hid> Failed to get preparsed data

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by pat_sommer, Mar 9, 2013.

  1. ShilohGames

    ShilohGames

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2014
    Posts:
    2,881
    I just recreated this error. I am using Unity 5.0.1f1 on Windows 7. I have an XBox 360 controller plugged into USB. When I plugged in a USB thumb drive and then unplugged the USB thumb drive, I saw Unity throwing this error message. I restarted Unity to resolve the problem.
     
  2. tswalk

    tswalk

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2013
    Posts:
    1,109
    I'ld like to add, that after a couple weeks working with 5.0.1p3 (or however long that patch has been out)... I have "not" been getting any RI.Hid errors..... none, zip, zero.
     
    superpig likes this.
  3. Tutanhomon

    Tutanhomon

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Posts:
    101
    5.0.2f1 fixed this =)
     
    superpig likes this.
  4. Anaea-Aidea

    Anaea-Aidea

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2013
    Posts:
    12
    Yay!
    Just updated to 5.0.2f1 and it's not showing up any more when I plug in the USB stick :D
     
    superpig likes this.
  5. Bennett-Lynch

    Bennett-Lynch

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2014
    Posts:
    35
    Still getting it on 5.0.2f1:


    (I'm using a USB 3.0 Laptop Docking Station which it may or may not be related to, but I believe I was getting the error previously without being connected to it. I can test to see if I'm getting it w/o the docking station if needed.)
     
    Last edited: May 20, 2015
  6. artics

    artics

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2013
    Posts:
    8
    still getting in on 2017.3
     
  7. life4god

    life4god

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2014
    Posts:
    1
    Getting this error at 2018.3.8f1 when plugging / unplugging an Iphone 6S from my Surface Book Pro. Since I saw that it's harmless I'm not worried about it, but just wanted to pass along it still occurs.
     
  8. faolad

    faolad

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2013
    Posts:
    118
    6 years later, Unity <3
     
  9. RestlessSwords

    RestlessSwords

    Joined:
    May 9, 2021
    Posts:
    26
    I have latest LTS, Unity-2020-3-16f, on fully updated windows-10, and an actual MICROFT USB mouse.
    "name=Controller (XBOX 360 For Windows):
    I get this error message every time I unplug the usb.

    By the way, @superpig, it is Aug-2021 and this May-2015 problem is still driving folks like me crazy.
     
  10. _eternal

    _eternal

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2014
    Posts:
    226
    I see I stumbled upon a historic thread. Same problem right now - Aug 2021, Unity 2020.3.14.
    See you guys in a few years?
     
  11. DragonTein

    DragonTein

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2018
    Posts:
    12
    Same. My Xbox controller works fine. But on my co-worker station it just dont register by unity.
     
    Laush-Studio likes this.
  12. Laush-Studio

    Laush-Studio

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2015
    Posts:
    13
    I have this error when connecting an XBOX One controller on version 2019.2.0f1. I have not seen this before in this version. Moreover, I even opened an old project that previously worked perfectly with the controller - now it also gives an error. With this error, the controller does not function in the Unity editor. But in builds, the controller works without problems.
     
  13. KYL3R

    KYL3R

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2012
    Posts:
    111
    SteamAPI and XInput with app_id 480 won't work (in Editor)!

    My XBOX One Controller wasn't working in Editor, but fine in build.

    Error:
    GER: "<RI.Hid> Failed to get preparsed data: Der Vorgang wurde erfolgreich beendet."
    EN: "<RI.Hid> Failed to get preparsed data: The operation completed successfully."

    Short Answer: SteamAPI and XInput confused the Unity Editor. Some Explanation on WHY that breaks here:
    https://issuetracker.unity3d.com/is...nput-not-detected-while-steamworks-is-running

    Fix:
    I used my own app id in steam_appid.txt in my Project Root (above "Assets") instead of the default 480 (spacewar).
    I had to restart Unity.
     
  14. ShuiRun108

    ShuiRun108

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2022
    Posts:
    5
    i got it in the 2020.3.33f1c1 LTS Version
     
  15. wechat_os_Qy0y56RVQkvKpad5AMJzhmLk8

    wechat_os_Qy0y56RVQkvKpad5AMJzhmLk8

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2020
    Posts:
    6
    i got it in the 2021.3.6fc1
     
  16. RubyDev1997

    RubyDev1997

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2020
    Posts:
    2
    How do I fix this. Happens with all controllers.
    I have my Steam APP Id configured correctly.

    Unity...
     
  17. RubenGarciaHernandez

    RubenGarciaHernandez

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2022
    Posts:
    6
    I am also affected, using Unity 2020.3.40f1
     
  18. leegod

    leegod

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Posts:
    2,223
    I am still get this error unity 2021.1.16f1
    while connecting xbox controller wireless adapter.