Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

RFID with UNITY

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by xandeck, Sep 28, 2011.

1. xandeck

xandeck

2. andorov

andorov

I believe the pro license allows C++ plugins which would likely be required to connect to any low level API. The low level drivers are usually supplied by manufacturers and are generally fairly easy to use (I've had a lot of experience programming magnetic readers, locks, etc) and don't require much effort to write a wrapper for.

If you want to skirt by the limitation of the pro license, you could write a C++ client and C# server that can intercommunicate. Basically control the low level api through a server-client architecture.

To be honest, I'm a little unclear as to what you are trying to do...

3. xandeck

xandeck

Basically, I'm searching any way to read RFID inputs into Unity (and then save/read to a TXT or XML file, or even a variable inside Unity), like the video in my first post (you can see that the device is connected into the iPad and then reads the RFID device, saving the text inside the iPad notepad). We are using QR Code with Flash, I already know there is a way (including someone is selling it in Asset Store) for QR Code and Unity, but I want to know for RFID.

And I'm using UnityPro, no problem for plugins... but I was searching for a quick solution, or anything already made, to use RFID with Unity.

4. Jaso

Jaso

This post is one of the most exciting posts I've ever read in this forum. My ideas spread out of what will be possible (in terms of Marketing Communications) in the future with RFID readers rather than QR Code readers. Thank you a lot for your thriving developement and your compelling thoughts beyond.

5. JRavey

JRavey