Search Unity

Reverse Mecanim animation midway through?

Discussion in 'Animation' started by rukadev, Oct 10, 2013.

1. rukadev

rukadev

Hi all,

I'm new to the Mecanim way of doing things and am struggling with a particular animation I want to achieve.

I have a door which opens when some event happens (say, a character moving into a trigger zone). The opening of the door lasts for 60 frames.

If the character leaves the trigger zone before the doors have finished opening, I want the doors to immediately begin closing from where they currently are within the open door animation. So if the doors have half-opened, they should not continue to open but should begin closing from the half-open position.

I can't figure out how to achieve this or determine if this is possible - I've done a lot of searching on this but haven't found anything.

Currently I have a transition from an idle state to a door opening state, and from door opening to door closing (and then back to idle). Door closing has a speed of -1 so playing in reverse works fine. If the door is part-way opened when the transition from opening to closing happens, the animation jumps to the end before it starts closing. The animation is one I've exported from blender 2.68a (FBX) if that makes a difference.

I would really appreciate any ideas on how to make this work. Thanks in advance for reading. :D

2. TonyLi

TonyLi

You can do it the Mecanim way, using transitions. Just transition to the door closing state as soon as it needs to happen. (Don't set Exit Time as a condition.)

3. rukadev

rukadev

Hi Tony,

Thanks for your assistance.

I already have a transition setup to move to the door closing state (from the door opening state) when required. As soon as the transition takes place, the animation jumps to the end and starts playing backwards.