Search Unity

REVENUE SHARE DOCUMENT

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Lamodts, Aug 6, 2020.

1. Lamodts

Lamodts

Hello every,
    can any one help me with a Revenue Share Document for indie game team. or you can write the format for me its very Urgent.

Attached Files:

2. EternalAmbiguity

EternalAmbiguity

Sounds like you need to find a lawyer.

Incidentally, I'm also curious about resources to help with drawing up FLAT PAY contracts for various creative endeavors, but I've figured I'll need to do the above - talking to a lawyer at least, if not having one write the contract itself.

3. Martin_H

Martin_H

Why?

-----
    (This is not legal advice, I am not a lawyer!)

The hard part isn't writing a reasonable contract, the hard part is enforcing it once sh!t went south (in my humble opinion). I'd save the lawyer for that part.

Just google "revenue share contract template" and see if you can find a good one that is licensed in a way that you can use for free, or buy it for a reasonable fee.

I once visited an actual lawyer to ask about trademark/copyright/eula stuff for an iOS game I was planning to release, and he told me to just look at the EULAs of the top 3 games and write the same thing in my own words. He said that's literally what he'd do and I don't need to pay him upwards of 1000$ to do that.
    It cost me 150,- Euro to talk to him for 45 minutes.

Don't forget to put clear terms into the contract on IP ownership, liability in case of getting sued as a developer, what happens when the game doesn't make it to market, financial liabilities in case of onforseen costs before or after release, very clearly define what exactly constitutes the "profit" or "revenue" that is being shared etc.. As a dev you probably are more qualified to think of more edge cases that need to be defined than an actual lawyer without gamedev experience would imho. So if you do pick a lawyer, I recommend looking for one with some experience in this domain.

4. Lamodts