Search Unity

Question Reusing Prefabs with imported Animators

Discussion in 'Animation' started by g4borg, Dec 9, 2022.

1. g4borg

g4borg

Hello!

I am rather new in the Animation Topic, so I hope someone can nudge me in the right direction.

I have bought an Asset, with lots of prefabs, that also contain LOD-Prefabs (nesting them), and all of the individual prefabs have already pre-defined Animators attached, including an AnimatorController for each model.

All of them have however the same states defined, but with different animation clips, no transitions. The individual prefabs have rigs and meshes as child objects, the lod prefabs have the individual prefabs as child objects. This seems standard in most asset collections.

Since I want to set up Animations with my own Animator on a root gameobject, where I create my state machine, with transitions, that I want to control, I don't want to repeat this by modifying the animators of each model.

I saw the best practice is to attach AnimatorControlOverrides and re-define the motions there, but I did not want to do that by hand for such a large amount of prefabs.

So my first thought was, I should try to create AnimatorControlOverrides out of the existing Animators of the prefabs, and use this on my root gameobject animator, so I could hot-swap the prefabs as a visual, and basicly copy the clips out of their native animator into my override, and deactivate it.

I actually worked out, how to create the runtime control override, by reading the clips from the child animator, but now I have the issue, that the Animator on the prefab was the only animator that actually had control;

My only manual coding solution is to create yet another MonoBehaviour, that I attach to all child prefabs at runtime, which copies and stores the animationclips, and then replace my own animationcontroller in the prefab animator, but create an override with the original imported clips, a solution I will try to achieve in the meantime.