Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Retargeting animations with different bipeds on one character

Discussion in 'Animation' started by toddw, Feb 19, 2015.

1. toddw

toddw

Hi,

Since I'm not an artist and don't have a budget for one, I've been buying animations from various sources such as 3DRT.com, Mixamo and the asset store. None of these sources have all of the animations I need but when combined I'm able to obtain most of what I need.

The problem I'm running in to now is that the .fbx models with baked animations from 3DRT.com have extra bones in the biped as opposed to the Mixamo animations. Upon attempting to re-target animations from either source to work on the same character, I have to import the rig with "Copy From Other Avatar" in order to drop the combined animation clips into the Animation Controller. When I do this, the clips from one of the files will work and the rest just freeze or look weird when I play them.

I have read Unity's documentation about this limitation in Mechanim and would just like to know if there is a tool or utility out there that can rip animation keyframes off of an fbx and assign them to a biped. I own Poser Pro 2014 Game Dev and have the latest copy of Blender but I can't seem to find a way to do this.

Thanks in advance!

2. Jself

Jself

It sounds like you have a avatar conflict with the skeleton bone count not matching up with model file.

Meaning you have 32 bones in the character models skeleton export and 45 bones in the animation files. This can be bad. Or the hierarchy of the skeletons don't match up. I can't really say for sure. But those would be the two things I would check if i ran into this problem.