Search Unity

  1. Welcome to the Unity Forums! Please take the time to read our Code of Conduct to familiarize yourself with the forum rules and how to post constructively.
  2. We are updating our Terms of Service for all Unity subscription plans, effective October 13, 2022, to create a more streamlined, user-friendly set of terms. Please review them here: unity.com/legal/terms-of-service.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Have a look at our Games Focus blog post series which will show what Unity is doing for all game developers – now, next year, and in the future.
    Dismiss Notice

Question Response status is always Failed

Discussion in 'Unity Remote Config' started by phong-genix, Sep 14, 2020.

  1. phong-genix

    phong-genix

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2015
    Posts:
    139
    Hi guys,

    I'm integrating Unity Remote Config to my project.
    Been trying with 1.2.3 and 1.4.0 (preview) from Package Manager, but no success.

    - Unity 2019.4.10f1
    - Unity Services and Analytics are enabled
    - Remote Config is configured on Unity dashboard

    But I always get "Remote config : Failed".

    Code snippet:

    Code (CSharp):
    1.     protected override void Awake()
    2.     {
    3.         ConfigManager.FetchCompleted += ApplyRemoteSettings;
    4.         ConfigManager.FetchConfigs<userAttributes, appAttributes>(new userAttributes(), new appAttributes());
    5.     }
    6.  
    7.     private void OnDestroy()
    8.     {
    9.         ConfigManager.FetchCompleted -= ApplyRemoteSettings;
    10.     }
    11.  
    12.     private void ApplyRemoteSettings(ConfigResponse response)
    13.     {
    14.         if (response.status == ConfigRequestStatus.Success)
    15.         {
    16.             switch (response.requestOrigin)
    17.             {
    18.                 case ConfigOrigin.Default:
    19.                     Debug.Log("No settings loaded this session; using default values.");
    20.                     break;
    21.                 case ConfigOrigin.Cached:
    22.                     Debug.Log("No settings loaded this session; using cached values from a previous session.");
    23.                     break;
    24.                 case ConfigOrigin.Remote:
    25.                     Debug.Log("New settings loaded this session; update values accordingly.");
    26.                     characterSpeedRate = ConfigManager.appConfig.GetFloat("CharSpeed", characterSpeedRate);
    27.  
    28.                     Debug.Log("characterSpeedRate from Unity Remote Config: " + characterSpeedRate);
    29.                     break;
    30.             }      
    31.         }
    32.         else
    33.         {
    34.             Debug.LogError("Remote config : " + response.status);
    35.         }
    36.  
    37.         public struct userAttributes
    38.         {
    39.         }
    40.  
    41.        public struct appAttributes
    42.        {
    43.        }
    44.     }
    Checking ConfigManagerImpl.cs I see that the code send web request to
    https://config.uca.cloud.unity3d.com but this link doesn't seem to work ("UnknownHost: config.uca.cloud.unity3d.com").

    And in that same file, in the method
    OnRawResponseReturned(ConfigOrigin origin, Dictionary<string, string> headers, string body)

    ...I debug.log and see that body is null.

    How can I solve this issue?

    Thanks.
     
    Last edited: Sep 14, 2020
  2. JeffDUnity3D

    JeffDUnity3D

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 2, 2017
    Posts:
    14,360
  3. phong-genix

    phong-genix

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2015
    Posts:
    139
    Hi @JeffDUnity3D

    Thanks for your response.
    I'm from Vietnam. I've been using Firebase Remote Config with my other games without any problem. So it's expected that Unity built-in Remote Config would be even easier but unfortunately it's not working for me :(

    The troubleshooting documentation with Charles Proxy for Android/iOS is a bit complicated for me time wise; Project is reaching deadline so I'm currently switching back to Firebase Remote Config but I'd love to check back Unity Remote Config later.

    Here is a screenshot of Charles Proxy I tested yesterday with Unity Editor Play Mode.

    Screen Shot 2020-09-14 at 17.15.43.png
     
  4. SamOYUnity3D

    SamOYUnity3D

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 12, 2019
    Posts:
    460
    The Charles does not seem to have installed the root certificate correctly, please check.
    https://support.unity3d.com/hc/en-us/articles/115002917683-Using-Charles-Proxy-with-Unity

    I just pinged the https://config.uca.cloud.unity3d.com and also got the "Unknown host", however, I can get the Remote Config value normally, so I think this is not the cause of the problem.

    Could you try to create a new minimal project and test Remote Config to see whether it works for you? Thanks.
     
unityunity