Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Question [Resolved] Lighting using prefab lights procedurally

Discussion in 'High Definition Render Pipeline' started by arnull, Sep 5, 2022.

1. arnull

arnull

Hi,

I raised this in HDRP thread, but have realised this may be something to do with the lighting / the prefab lights being instantiated.

I am new to unity HDRP. However, I have done projects in Unity before just not using the HDRP.

I have encountered an issue upon rendering / playing a procedural level.

The below image is how the game looks upon pressing play.

Like below you can see in the wall liners but not the floor, walls or ceiling textures.
    But when you move about 50 paces in any direction, it then renders correctly.

If you pace 2 or 3 steps either side it will flip between being rendered as image one and then being rendered as image two in almost a circle from X = 0 and Z = 0.

I am not sure what I am missing here and have a Global Light active, a Global Volume and lights placed procedurally throughout the level.

Any help would be appreciated and apologies if this is a rookie mistake, still learning HDRP.

I can post images of the GL / GV and the lights themselves if needed. Or any texture I am using.

Thank you!

Edit* I have completed some further testing and it seems like the issue could have something to do with the amount of prefab lights being added to a scene.

The way I have the map generated is with an X and Z value. If I set this to a 15 x 16 box it will render okay. However, if I increase this to the range that is required for the project to something like 75 x 76, it will not light the scene in play mode. Yet it renders fine in the scene view.

Any thoughts / ideas appreciated :).

Attached Files:

Last edited: Sep 9, 2022
  2. arnull

arnull