Search Unity

République Tech Demo

Discussion in 'Assets and Asset Store' started by RandAlThor, Apr 13, 2015.

  1. RandAlThor

    RandAlThor

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Posts:
    1,260
    Hi,

    i just downloaded the new asset from Camouflaj, LLC from the Unity store and since then also after restarting the computer i can not create a new project.

    I remember that the download indication started with a - so like -31% and then -32% and so on.

    I know downloaded it a second time but it does not help.
    Also i got this error in the console:
    Failed to read package information for package at 'C:/Users/MyComputerName/AppData/Roaming/Unity/Asset Store-5.x/Camouflaj LLC/Complete ProjectsUnity Tech Demos/Rpublique Tech Demo.unitypackage'

    Can someone help?
     
  2. rosor

    rosor

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Posts:
    3,616
    how big is the project? I remember some of my customers had some crazy issues because a package I had on the store was just a tad over 2 Gb which is the ultimate maximum size limit allowed on the asset store. Customers whether couldn't download properly with the same negative increment bug etc...
     
  3. RandAlThor

    RandAlThor

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Posts:
    1,260
    The project was about 2.9 Gb.
    I only can work now because i have deleted the download by hand.

    Hope to look at this fantastic asset soon and learn from it.
     
  4. rosor

    rosor

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Posts:
    3,616
    well you should contact the asset store and let them know. Over 2 Gb nobody can do anything with an asset that size.Only issues appear. Or maybe contact directly the guys from Republic to make them split the package into 2 entities, or try to reduce the size under 2 Gb. Until I reached the 2 Gb limit everything was fine with my package. Went slightly over that, and then everything was messed up...
     
  5. nasos_333

    nasos_333

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2013
    Posts:
    7,898
    What does it say when you try to create a new project and fails ?

    Maybe erase or rename the project directory, so it cant find it and enter the offensive mode.
     
  6. RandAlThor

    RandAlThor

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Posts:
    1,260
    It does not react meaning it does nothing happen if i gave it a name and click on the button to create that new project.
    Also i can not start it if i simply click double on the file from the explorer. It can not open the file but i do not remember the exact text here.
     
  7. ZJP

    ZJP

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Posts:
    2,646
    2.9Gb... maybe too big for the 32Bits IDE?! ;)
     
  8. RandAlThor

    RandAlThor

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Posts:
    1,260
    Unity 5 = 64 bit at least on my system ;)
     
    ZJP likes this.
  9. rosor

    rosor

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Posts:
    3,616
    nothing to do with the version of the editor. it's related to a package size issue. It 's a known bug from unity. Over 2Gb packages start to be totally unstable. Answer from unity to my problem which was really similar: try to split your package into smaller ones or try to reduce the overall size of the package so that it doesn't go over the ultimate size limit.
    In clear, try to contact the author and ask him to trim it down under the 2 Gb limit size.
     
  10. hopeful

    hopeful

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2013
    Posts:
    4,962
    I downloaded it (Unity 5.0.0f4, Windows 8.1) and have it working.

    It did not seem to cause any problems.
     
  11. Ghosthowl

    Ghosthowl

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2014
    Posts:
    178
    I'm also having the same issue, I've gotten to -148%. This is the first time it has kept going without my intervention. Usually it gets to ~-28% before erroring. I have tried 3 times now all with clean projects on Unity 5.0.1f1

     
  12. rosor

    rosor

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Posts:
    3,616
    On my end, a few users managed to get my 2 Gb package working as well, but a majority couldn't do anything with it...
     
  13. Spoken_OS

    Spoken_OS

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2015
    Posts:
    29
    I got the same issue. I just deleted the package from my disk and i'll wait for an update.
     

    Attached Files:

  14. RandAlThor

    RandAlThor

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Posts:
    1,260
    I send them an email and wait for an update too.
     
  15. hopeful

    hopeful

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2013
    Posts:
    4,962
    The first time I tried to download it I got an error, but that was because it filled my disk up. So I deleted some stuff I wasn't using any more, got up to 6.5G free (yeah, I am running a little on the full side with my C disk).

    So that was last night. This morning I downloaded it without any problem (it needs significantly more than 2.9G for the download process, but less than 6G). After the download was finished I copied the file to my D drive, erased the original, opened an empty project, dropped the D file into the open project, and surfed the forums while it imported.

    When it was done I was able to view the scene and move the character along in the game view, which I did for several minutes, going from the brig to the atrium, looking around. I haven't done anything further with it.
     
  16. Frogger007

    Frogger007

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2014
    Posts:
    338
    The asset could be splitted into 2 parts and released in this form through the asset store !
     
  17. ZJP

    ZJP

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Posts:
    2,646
    Sure?!.
     
  18. rosor

    rosor

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Posts:
    3,616
    pretty sure, yep
     
  19. macodys

    macodys

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2012
    Posts:
    64
    I think now the package is removed from the asset store but i hope to bring it back and fix the error.
     
  20. b4c5p4c3

    b4c5p4c3

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2013
    Posts:
    537
    After seeing this thread i went to download the package and the problems seems some kind of buffer overflow in the variables that manages the percentage (maybe a 32 bit).

    If you open the downloading folder you can see the file is actually downloading even if you get those negatives percentages. You only have to wait and the file will get downloaded just fine.
     
  21. hopeful

    hopeful

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2013
    Posts:
    4,962
    Basically it counts from -1% to something like -199% and then back down to -100%, at which point you're done.

    I didn't pay too much attention to that, as it's obviously cosmetic.
     
  22. Frogger007

    Frogger007

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2014
    Posts:
    338
    Hope they release the demo very soon again !
     
  23. CamouflajSupportTeam

    CamouflajSupportTeam

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2015
    Posts:
    3
    Hello everyone, and thank you for your patience!

    As you are all aware, there were some issues with our demo. That said, we have recently resubmitted and it should be available to download now. As usual, if you have any questions, concerns, or issues, you may email our support system and we'll do what we can to help!

    Thank you again!
    Camouflaj Support Team
     
    I am da bawss, Mauri, twobob and 2 others like this.
  24. hopeful

    hopeful

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2013
    Posts:
    4,962
    What was done to get the asset size reduced by 2/3?
     
  25. Spoken_OS

    Spoken_OS

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2015
    Posts:
    29
    Reduced the texture sizes.
     
  26. hopeful

    hopeful

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2013
    Posts:
    4,962
    Does it look substantially worse now, or not all that different? Any idea?
     
  27. Frogger007

    Frogger007

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2014
    Posts:
    338
    What is the useage limit for this asset and it's content ?

    In the demo, can the woman interacting with the enviroment ?
     
    Last edited: Apr 15, 2015
  28. makeshiftwings

    makeshiftwings

    Joined:
    May 28, 2011
    Posts:
    3,302
    I'm also wondering about the licensing on this demo. I don't see a custom license anywhere on the download page, so it is currently licensed under the default Asset Store license, meaning everything within the package is free to use in any game, commercial or non-commercial. I'm guessing you guys probably didn't actually mean to license it like that, so you should probably change the license if it's a mistake.
     
  29. Spoken_OS

    Spoken_OS

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2015
    Posts:
    29
    Well I can't base it on the before since I couldn't see it, but it looks good.
     
  30. CamouflajSupportTeam

    CamouflajSupportTeam

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2015
    Posts:
    3
    Hello again!

    Apparently the Readme file with the usage guidelines wasn't uploaded with the previous update. We've submitted another update, and with any luck it will be approved shortly.

    If you have any more questions, please feel free to post them here, or email our support team.

    We're here to help!
     
  31. I am da bawss

    I am da bawss

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Posts:
    2,574
    Could you paste the readme file with usage guideline here?
     
    Frogger007 likes this.
  32. Frogger007

    Frogger007

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2014
    Posts:
    338
    It's much easier as to download the complete asset twice !
     
  33. I am da bawss

    I am da bawss

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Posts:
    2,574
  34. Runemark

    Runemark

    Joined:
    May 23, 2013
    Posts:
    185
    Fun fact: after I downloaded the first version, I wasn't able to create a new Project... The create button doesn't response no matter how hard I pushed it. :D During the download I also had this negative % issue.
    Now I read this forum, and deleted the project from the asset strore files. Now I can create new projects once again XD
    Nice bug. However I'm still curious of the République, it looks interesting.
     
  35. RandAlThor

    RandAlThor

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Posts:
    1,260
    Then just Download it :)
     
  36. TwiiK

    TwiiK

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Posts:
    1,640
    I certainly hope none of my Unity projects reach this size. This project is unmanageable for me, and I thought my PC was more than bulky enough.

    Almost anything I do causes Unity to crash, and just navigating the scene view is a pain.

    Btw, did you guys have to manually build the lightmaps? The game looked horrible for me when I imported it. It said it had 0 lightmaps so I tried building them, but Unity crashed. Will try again later. :p
     
  37. Bravo_cr

    Bravo_cr

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2012
    Posts:
    148
    I just downloaded the demo and play around with it a bit. I'm afraid that something is wrong with the current version (1.2). I have a late iMac 27" late 2014, and the demo is way to much for this machine. When I saw the numbers I realized why: 16000draws and 2.3 1.2Million-2.4Million vertex. If you enable static batching the geometry is corrupted and all the flares are missing. I was hoping to see some cleaver techniques in there, but it is brute force: deffered lightning, a LOT of lights and standard shader everywhere.

    Anyway, many thanks for sharing this :)
     
  38. Praquenome

    Praquenome

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2014
    Posts:
    1
    someone has République Tech Demo download via torrent?