Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Replay value in games: A questionnaire

Discussion in 'Game Design' started by KennethCamilleri, Jan 20, 2015.

1. KennethCamilleri

KennethCamilleri

What's your take on replay value? How would you rate a game's replay value by its game design characteristics? I am curious to create a mathematical model to quantify how certain game design elements can give games more replay value.

To do this, I've created a questionnaire for people to fill out. Can you game designers and gamers out there help reach my project's goals by filling this out? http://goo.gl/forms/AGLXrTp02E

To explain why I'm doing this, I am a 3rd year student attending a course in Creative Computing, and for my final year project, I want to explore how procedural content generation can increase replay value in games, but to do this, I need to quantify replay value first, with a grounded theory! Which means opinions straight from the gamers and game makers themselves.

Any of your opinions and thoughts are welcomed. It will do my project a great favour to fill out this questionnaire!

2. Kiwasi

Kiwasi

They really need to make you guys do a Voice of the Customer course before they let you send out these surveys...

DanSuperGP likes this.
  3. DanSuperGP

DanSuperGP

Filled out for you.

4. KennethCamilleri

KennethCamilleri

Interesting, just looked up what Voice Of the Customer is about. What brought this to your mind?

Much appreciated!

5. Kiwasi

Kiwasi

Its always on top of my mind, I'm a LEAN/Six sigma practitioner in my day job :). I know just enough about VOC to be dangerous. And to tell you its worth tracking down a statistician who is an expert on this sort of thing. Proper survey design can double the value of the data you get out of it.

I filled it out for you.

6. angrypenguin

angrypenguin