Search Unity

RenderPluginDelegate manager

Discussion in 'iOS and tvOS' started by cbaltzer, Nov 18, 2013.

1. cbaltzer

cbaltzer

It seems like few people are using native plugins as often as I am, but I was very excited about the RenderPluginDelegate addition in Unity 4.3. I was a little disappointed when I started playing with them, to realize that the built in delegates don't actually get connected anywhere by default.

I have a few plugins which I hope to use as delegates, and so I decided I needed a common interface for them. My hope is that other plugin developers will use it as well, so that we don't end up with another PostProcessBuildPlayer. I constantly run into issues of plugins conflicting with each other. However, diagnosing conflicted PostProcessBuildPlayer issues would be much easier than diagnosing conflicting RenderPluginDelegates. I'd like to avoid all that and have something that many people can use to register their plugins.

It will deal with the initial delegate registration and sit between other plugins and Unity, dispatching events seamlessly. It's current iteration is very simple, and inherits directly from the supplied RenderPluginArrayDelegate example.

Hopefully it will be of use to some people. :)

Take a look here: https://github.com/scarlet/RenderPluginManager

2. Alexey

Alexey

Unity Technologies

well, we are still bottlenecked by our web team to push samples on learn site, but for now lets have some docs right here ;-)
    we actually DO have a way to register render plugin without touching trampoline. Also, your way of doing stuff is flawed in a way that you cannot know in advance the needed order of plugins (and if you dont care you should just use this list thingy). As for registering itself:

1. in UnityAppController interface you will see