Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Render To Texture - Alpha Issues

Discussion in 'Shaders' started by DigitalSpit, Jun 25, 2010.

1. DigitalSpit

DigitalSpit

Hello Unity Community!

I´ve got a Problem witch is similar to this one:
    http://forum.unity3d.com/viewtopic.php?t=7597

I Render an Object to a Texture with the Common Bumped Specular Shader. Now the alpha channel is really used to create Translucent, but it shouldn´t

At the Topic above they postet a code witch will fill the alpha of the rendered Image, but i only want to see the object not the background.

I got this problems in other Environments like Conitec 3DGS or XNA. But im an Artist and only want to see the things working, not bring them to work, thats not my job and i wasted to much time for that.

There are guys whose job it would be, but thats beside the point.

2. Daniel_Brauer

Daniel_Brauer

Unity Technologies

As an artist, your job includes understanding the tools and principles of your medium. Alpha channels are not just used for transparency. If you look at your scene view you can switch from RGB to Alpha view to see what is drawn to the frame buffer's alpha channel. In Unity, frame buffer alpha is used (by default) to store overbright information so that the fullscreen glow effect works.

If, instead, you render to a rendertexture and then pass that to another shader, you need to respect the alpha channel's intended use, or ignore alpha entirely. In this case, you are using overbrightness information as transparency, and it doesn't look good. Render it with a non-transparent shader, and you'll see just the original colour information.

3. DigitalSpit

DigitalSpit

I use the default Bumpmap Material, there should no transparency. The Alpha i was talking about is the SpecularMap.

I also have an idea why that problem results.