Search Unity

Bug Render textures do not work on Android, but they work in both editor and desktop

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by Deleted User, Jan 2, 2022.

  1. Deleted User

    Deleted User

    Guest

    That is everything I know.

    The cause is unknown.
     
    Niter88 likes this.
  2. Kurt-Dekker

    Kurt-Dekker

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013
    Posts:
    38,689
    All I know is they work in Android all day long. Odds are you probably have something else broken.

    You must find a way to get the information you need in order to reason about what the problem is.

    What is often happening in these cases is one of the following:

    - the code you think is executing is not actually executing at all
    - the code is executing far EARLIER or LATER than you think
    - the code is executing far LESS OFTEN than you think
    - the code is executing far MORE OFTEN than you think
    - the code is executing on another GameObject than you think it is

    To help gain more insight into your problem, I recommend liberally sprinkling Debug.Log() statements through your code to display information in realtime.

    Doing this should help you answer these types of questions:

    - is this code even running? which parts are running? how often does it run? what order does it run in?
    - what are the values of the variables involved? Are they initialized? Are the values reasonable?
    - are you meeting ALL the requirements to receive callbacks such as triggers / colliders (review the documentation)

    Knowing this information will help you reason about the behavior you are seeing.

    You can also put in Debug.Break() to pause the Editor when certain interesting pieces of code run, and then study the scene

    You could also just display various important quantities in UI Text elements to watch them change as you play the game.

    If you are running a mobile device you can also view the console output. Google for how on your particular mobile target.

    Another useful approach is to temporarily strip out everything besides what is necessary to prove your issue. This can simplify and isolate compounding effects of other items in your scene or prefab.

    Here's an example of putting in a laser-focused Debug.Log() and how that can save you a TON of time wallowing around speculating what might be going wrong:

    https://forum.unity.com/threads/coroutine-missing-hint-and-error.1103197/#post-7100494
     
  3. AcidArrow

    AcidArrow

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Posts:
    11,735
    They definitely do work on Android. Our games wouldn't have worked at all without rendertexture support, and they do.

    You need to provide more information.
     
  4. Deleted User

    Deleted User

    Guest

    Okay.

    I have a setup of 9 physical cameras, which get enabled as they're needed.
    All of them are assigned to a render texture, but for some reason it doesn't work on mobile.
    It works in Editor and both Windows/Linux.

    IL2CPP compiler, .NET Standard.
     
  5. AcidArrow

    AcidArrow

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Posts:
    11,735
    Do you get any errors on Android?
     
  6. Deleted User

    Deleted User

    Guest

    No errors are shown.
     
  7. Deleted User

    Deleted User

    Guest

    I have 9 buttons which change the Render Texture in Raw Image in the canvas to a respective camera's Render Texture.
     
  8. Deleted User

    Deleted User

    Guest

    Gotta try to run the game and check logcat. Perhaps logs won't show on screen on Android if an error has occured?
     
  9. AcidArrow

    AcidArrow

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Posts:
    11,735
    Yeah, you need to check logcat.
     
  10. Deleted User

    Deleted User

    Guest

    Found it!
    01-03 17:29:04.980 24551 24583 E Unity   : RenderTexture.Create failed: depth/stencil format unsupported - D32 SFloat S8 UInt (94). There is no compatible format on this platform or this fallback to a compatible format is disabled in the import inspector.
     
    trombonaut and Kurt-Dekker like this.
  11. Deleted User

    Deleted User

    Guest

    I'll change depth/stencil mode, and it must fix the issue, perhaps?
    P.S. 16bit depth should do it.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 3, 2022
    barraxworld likes this.
  12. Deleted User

    Deleted User

    Guest

    upload_2022-1-3_17-47-21.png
    It is enabled?
     
    krisventure and VirtualDimension like this.
  13. VirtualDimension

    VirtualDimension

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2021
    Posts:
    2
    I think I need more info to answer, can you show the images on the inspector?
     
  14. AcidArrow

    AcidArrow

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Posts:
    11,735
    This seems to indicate that the problem is the Depth / Stencil format. Try D24 S8 instead of D32 S8.
     
  15. Deleted User

    Deleted User

    Guest

  16. riasat2274_unity

    riasat2274_unity

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2023
    Posts:
    1
    I had same issue, this format worked for me, thanks