Search Unity

  1. Unity 6 Preview is now available. To find out what's new, have a look at our Unity 6 Preview blog post.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity is excited to announce that we will be collaborating with TheXPlace for a summer game jam from June 13 - June 19. Learn more.
    Dismiss Notice

Feature Request render scale should be in the renderer now in the URP asset

Discussion in 'Universal Render Pipeline' started by laurentlavigne, Oct 6, 2020.

  1. laurentlavigne

    laurentlavigne

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Posts:
    6,440
    upload_2020-10-6_2-2-27.png

    why? because this way we can control scale per camera and do things like background blur to economize precious fillrate
     
  2. Sky77

    Sky77

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2014
    Posts:
    171
  3. laurentlavigne

    laurentlavigne

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Posts:
    6,440
    ok my gut feeling is it won't work because overlay cameras don't have the allow dynamic resolution checkbox so they'll probably inherit the stack owner's renderscale. maybe it's not exposed in the inspector (bug) so, giving the benefit of the doubt I'm adding a script to set camera.allowDynamicResolution to false for this forerground (overlay) camera
    upload_2020-10-6_2-44-30.png
    and renderbuffersize to 0.1 for clarity
    it doesn't work in the editor :rolleyes:
    so it's time for to build ... elevator music

    and as expected it doesn't work sensibly: the entire image is resscaled to 0.1 instead of just the background camera
    on top of that the resulting image is wrong with the floor showing up as black.

    overall I'm feeling the sting of switching to URP way more than I'd like. It's just not production ready with edge cases like this one not handled in a sensible manner.

    What's your guy's experience?

    setup:
    upload_2020-10-6_3-6-34.png
    foreground is an overlay camera and background is the stack owner
    upload_2020-10-6_3-6-44.png
     
  4. laurentlavigne

    laurentlavigne

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Posts:
    6,440
    I saw the framerate drop to 1/2 when using stacked camera so I don't think it would work, yes even with 1/10th the resolution.