Search Unity

Resolved Render quality looks lower than expected in VR project

Discussion in 'VR' started by zelrender, Oct 26, 2020.

1. zelrender

zelrender

Hi all,

I'm new to VR development but not new to Unity, having released a game last year. I am trying a small project involving displaying photos of real like paintings on walls in a VR space. The image fidelity of the paintings is of course an important factor in this project and currectly everything looks a bit blurry in the headset. The texture is high resolution and when close to it in the VR project it looks like that, just a few steps back and its kind of blurry. I've tried using XRSettings.eyeTextureResolutionScale and that makes the project run slower when upped but I cant see a difference in the resolution. Help appreciated.

Here's some specs:
    Quest 2 headset: 1832 x 1920 resolution for each eye
    Painting texture resolution: 5017 x 3345 (currently not yet compressed, left Texture Type as Default)

upload_2020-10-26_15-56-21.png

upload_2020-10-26_15-56-58.png

upload_2020-10-26_15-57-48.png

upload_2020-10-26_15-58-37.png

2. TheNullReference

TheNullReference

Do the paintings look blurry in the viewport? Could the actual headset lenses and resolution be causing the blur?

3. zelrender

zelrender

Not blurry in the viewport. It could be the lens/max res of the headset but I've seen clearer rendering in other games/apps on the headset. Also the texture is pretty crisp close up, makes me think its a camera setting perhaps?

4. Psajmon_unity

Psajmon_unity

Check Anisotropic texture quality setting in imported texture.

5. zelrender

zelrender

These are my settings, so already using Aniso on import.

Image Quality settings.jpg

6. arfish

arfish

Hi,

Mip Maps on Textures usually kills the details.
    Have you tried without Mip Maps?

7. zelrender

zelrender

I have and its no good either.

8. Geist2501

Geist2501