Search Unity

Render Pipeline Advice

Discussion in 'General Graphics' started by McDev02, Jul 10, 2019.

1. McDev02

McDev02

Hello. I plan a new project and I am unsure which way to go so I'd like to get some opinions. Of course, I will just test both options in-depth but until I can do so with VR I'd like to do some research and maybe you have some helpful insights. Basically, my options are:
    • Default deferred
    • HDRP
    • Custom Render Pipeline
    As I don't have the slightest clue how I would make my own Render pipeline I have the feeling that this option is out of the question. What I might end up with are a few tweaks to the deferred pipeline but I am not a graphics developer so I guess I have to live with what is offered to me.

Requirements
    • Should be able to achieve realistic lighting at different exposures.
    • All dynamic, cannot use any static features (lightmap, occlusion, batching)
    • Moderate use of decals (Albedo, M, S, Normals)
    • Ideally, draws many dynamic lights and shadows
    • Shall work with Xbox and PlayStation
    • Shall work in VR
    I am aware that some of these points are contrasts. I will do everything to reduce draw calls in VR.

Currently, VR in HDRP does not support deferred rendering but as I have to disable many lights and shadows anyway, this might not be a big deal.
    Source
    This sounds like I would need a seperate VR build, right? Otherwise the graphics pipeline for non-VR would not support every feature.

One downside of HDRP is that usage of AssetStore assets is not that straight forward but I plan to use as few as possible anyway. Also I like to write custom shaders in a text editor, at least it supports the Node editor but I am still very skeptical as in the past I was missing nodes such as vertex data and manipulation.