Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Render Depth Shader

Discussion in 'Shaders' started by pmaloo, Aug 23, 2016.

1. pmaloo

pmaloo

I am fairly new to shaders, and just trying out simple examples to render the depth. I took the following code from https://docs.unity3d.com/Manual/SL-DepthTextures.html

Code (CSharp):
    2. Shader "Render Depth" {
    3.     SubShader {
    4.         Tags { "RenderType"="Opaque" }
    5.         Pass {
    6.             CGPROGRAM
    8.             #pragma vertex vert
    9.             #pragma fragment frag
    10.             #include "UnityCG.cginc"
    12.             struct v2f {
    13.                 float4 pos : SV_POSITION;
    14.                 float2 depth : TEXCOORD0;
    15.             };
    17.             v2f vert (appdata_base v) {
    18.                 v2f o;
    19.                 o.pos = UnityObjectToClipPos(v.vertex);
    20.                 UNITY_TRANSFER_DEPTH(o.depth);
    21.                 return o;
    22.             }
    24.             half4 frag(v2f i) : SV_Target {
    25.                 UNITY_OUTPUT_DEPTH(i.depth);
    26.             }
    27.             ENDCG
    28.         }
    29.     }
    30. }

I used the following code in my script to render the depth during run-time:
    Code (CSharp):
    1.         mCamera = GetComponent<Camera> ();
    2.         mCamera.depthTextureMode |= DepthTextureMode.Depth;
    3.         mCamera.SetReplacementShader (shader, null);
    However, I am getting a completely black output instead of a smooth monochrome gradient indicating the depth. Can someone please point out where I am going wrong?

Thanks

2. bgolus

bgolus